Skip to main content

Getting Started

Questions to ask yourself before you begin:

When was the book published?
You do not want to look in an index that covers the years 1985-present if your book was published in 1980. Check for the original publication date of the book, you may have a reprint or second edition.

What is the subject of the book?
Should you be using a specialized index or database? Use the tabs above to access subject-specific databases where you can find book reviews.

Print Sources

Book Review Digest
Birnbaum Ref Z1219.C5 (1905 - present)
Mortola Periodicals (1905-2002)
Indexes a limited number of popular and scholarly periodicals. Arranged alphabetically by author; includes a subject and title index. Most citations include a summary of the book, excerpts from the review, and an indication of the length of the review.

Book Review Index
Birnbaum Ref Index Z1025.A1 B6 (1984-present)
Mortola Bound Periodicals (1965 - 1993)
Indexes over 600 publications including review journals, national publications, and scholarly and literary journals. Arranged alphabetically by author. Includes a title index. Includes Children's books.

Children's Book Review Index
Birnbaum Ref Index Z1037.A1. C475 (1965 - 1984)
Mortola Ref Z1037.A1 C475
Cumulative, five volumes. Arranged by authors name with one volume for titles.

Magill's Literary Annual
Birnbaum Ref Reserve PN44.M332 (1977- present)
Mortola Reference PN44.M35 (1977-present)
Essay reviews of the outstanding books of the previous year printed in the United States.

New York Times Book Review Index
Birnbaum Ref Index AP2.N658 Volumes 1-5 (1896-1970)
Includes a volume for author, category, title, and subject. Also see the database links for the New York Times (Lexis-Nexis) and the New York Times Archives.

Search All

Use the "Search All" tool to search for book reviews across multiple databases.

Enter your book title in quotation marks (for example, "A Child Called It") and then when viewing the results, in the Source Types menu on the left, click to limit to "Reviews." You may have to click "Show More" in order to see "Reviews."

General Sources