Skip to main content
Citation analysis plays a pivotal role in faculty tenure, promotion and hiring decisions in academic institutions.

Part 4: Journal Verification Resources

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

The library just bought access to the database Ulrich’s Web.  Tenure track faculty can now obtain the most comprehensive journal coverage with the click of their mouse.  Faculty can find details about scholarly, Open Access, business and niche journals across all subject areas and find out instantly whether these journals are peer-reviewed.  Faculty who are looking for a possible list of peer-reviewed journals in a particular discipline can use Ulrich’s Web with over 300,000 journals, 900 subject areas in 200 languages.  To access this database from the Pace Library website click here:

http://libguides.pace.edu/az.php?a=u

Publish or Perish Journal Impact Search

You can use the software called Publish or Perish (PoP) to calculate citation metrics on specific journals. Download the software by using the link below and choose "Journal Search."

Journal Quality List (Harzing)

The Journal Quality List is a collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources compiled and edited by Dr. Anne-Wil Harzing creator of the Publish or Perish (PoP) software. See link below. The purpose of her list is to assist academics in targeting journals of appropriate standards.  This is a great resource for any academic seeking information about the quality of a particular journal.

Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports (Thomson Reuters) provides access to data that helps evaluate and compare scholarly journals within the sciences and social sciences, using citation data drawn from over 7,500 journals from over 3,300 publishers in over 60 nations. Information available includes:

  • Most frequently cited journals in a field
  • Highest impact journals in a field
  • Leading journals in a field
  • Related journals in a field

Pace Library does not subscribe to this resource.

Cabell's Directory

Cabell’s provides acceptance rates, review process, topics of articles, manuscript guidelines, type of reader and publication contact information for over 6,000 journals in: accounting, economics & Finance, Management, Marketing, Computer Science, Business Information Systems, Health Administration and Nursing. 

Asst Univ. Librarian for Graduate Services

Michelle Lang's picture
Michelle Lang
Contact:
Michelle Lang
Asst Univ. Librarian for Graduate Services
Pace University
Mortola Library, 2nd Floor, Pleasantville, NY
Birnbaum Library, 1st Floor, New York, NY
(212) 346-1778 rings at both offices