Skip to main content

Comparing Citation Software

Pace supports EndNote and Zotero.  How do you know which program is right for you? Some things to think about when you choose:

What programs are your colleagues using? For example, if fellow researchers are all using Zotero to share citations, you might consider Zotero so that you can share your research, too.

You can use more than one software. Records can be transferred from one program to another, so don't feel limited to choosing only one.

 

 

EndNote

Zotero

Strengths?

Great for organizing citations

Highly customizable

Excellent customer support

Can handle a large number of references

Can sync your Library across your desktop, iPad and Web

You can collaborate online with a team

 

Simple download of records

Good for managing a variety of formats, including web pages

Lots of functionality in an open-source product.

Downloads records from most databases including some that don't work with endnote

 You can collaborate online with a team

Software

Desktop client, with Web interface available to desktop users, as well as a mobile app for iPad

 

Browser Plug-In for Firefox recommended. 

Second option is Zotero standalone which works with Chrome and Safari.

Both options link to Zotero cloud storage.

Cost

Available free to Pace University users through Institutional License

Non-Pace individuals:

If you’re buying EndNote for the first timeDownload $249.95; Shipped $299.95; Student edition $113.95 (sold by OnTheHub estore through link provided by EndNote). Prices as of 7/21/15

 

Free with 300MB of back-up storage. Storage & group upgrades available for a reasonable monthly fee.

Go to www.zotero.org/download/ to download and install.

Learning curve

Requires some time; training recommended. Quick guide, user’s manual, videos and free class schedule available at http://endnote.com/training#resources

 

Quick to learn; simple design, many online user guides and demos.

How does it work?

Export references from compatible library databases into EndNote and import reference files to EndNote using database specific filters.  Manually enter records when reference data is not available or exportable online.

 

Zotero can detect when you are looking at an item and recognize what type of document it is.   

In the Firefox version, two buttons will be added to the tools bar at the top right side of the browser.  The Z button opens your library in the plugin.

The icon to add the document currently in your browser is just right of the Z button.

How simple is it to import records?

It is very straightforward to export records from most research databases. For questions on exporting and importing from specific databases available at Pace, see the EndNote LibGuide at http://libguides.pace.edu/endnote  (this guide will be owned by Academic Technology and have their Help Desk number on it when they make EndNote available and begin to support it).

 

Very simple, as long as the resource is compatible with Zotero.

 

Click the icon next to the Z button to add the item to your Zotero references.  This icon will appear differently for journal articles, newspaper articles, books and web sites.

What kinds of records can you import and organize (PDFs, images, etc.)?

EndNote works best with records for traditional formats like journal articles and books. Some PDFs can be automatically imported from Open Access titles by adding authentication and Open URL information within Preferences.

PDFs and other file types including images can be manually added and stored within EndNote records.

Traditional formats (books, articles, patents), as well as web pages.

PDFs, web screenshots, and other file types can also be stored on the Zotero server and attached to the records.

Can you search within PDFs

Yes.

 

Yes. Make PDFs searchable by choosing to index them in the preferences menu.

Are records in your library viewable by others?

Users of EndNote X7.2 or later can share their entire library, with simultaneous read-write access to all references and attachments, with up to fourteen other EndNote X7.2 (or later) users.

Yes, if you choose to share them. You can set up individual and group profiles and share records.

Can you export records to other citation software?

Yes.

Yes.

Does it work with word processing software?

Yes. Use EndNote’s powerful Cite While You Write (CWYW), patented bibliography creation technology, to create and format reports, manuscripts and proceedings. EndNote documentation focuses primarily on Word for both Windows and Mac, however CWYW options are available for other word processing including Pages and Open Office.

Yes. Works with Microsoft Word and LibreOffice/OpenOffice/NeoOffice.

 

Download a plugin for the word processor you use here: www.zotero.org/support/word_processor_plugin_installation

Does it back up your records?

Not automatically. Your EndNote library is automatically saved to your Documents library in Windows, so when you back up your documents it will be backed up. Saving to flash drives and clouds is not recommended due to eventual file corruption issues.

You can save an EndNote library, including the filename.enl file, its associated .DATA folder, and all of its contents, to a single compressed file in order to back up your library or send to a copy to a colleague. Later, you can restore the compressed library with EndNote.

Note: EndNote libraries larger than 4 gigabytes or 65,535 files cannot be compressed with EndNote’s Compressed Library command.

Yes, if you choose to back up or sync your Zotero library. A small amount of storage in the cloud (the Zotero server) is free. Additional storage can be purchased at a monthly rate.

Can you annotate PDFs (highlight & make notes)?

Yes.

No.

Other important features

Use the “find full text” feature to download full text for some open access PDFs

The Journal field (in the Journal Article reference type) can be used with the Journals term list to allow for multiple formats of a journal name to be used in your bibliographies, depending on the format required

Use the Change Case preferences to list the words that should not be modified when EndNote changes the case of titles. This can be used for special acronyms, equations, proper nouns, or compound names that require consistent capitalization.

Can be used for collaborative work with groups

Will automatically attach PDFs to records if you choose

If you back up records, you can sync multiple computers

Integrated with work on web that you do

Does it have a mobile site or app?

Yes. An iPad app.

Yes, the mobile version of zotero.org allows you to access and edit your Zotero library on your tablet or mobile phone. For more info visit www.zotero.org/support/mobile

Link to vendor documentation

http://endnote.com/support

www.zotero.org/support