Skip to main content

Looking for a Pace DPS in Computing Dissertation?

To access the Seidenberg DPS in Computing Dissertations, please follow this link:  http://libguides.pace.edu/c.php?g=375487&p=2540895

The password is: digitalthesis

Dissertation, Thesis or Capstone Report Guidance & Consultation

Upon confirmation of your dissertation, thesis or capstone report,  you may contact Michelle Lang, by email: mlang@pace.edu  to schedule a one-on-one research consultation.  

PLEASE use your PACE EMAIL and include: your name, research topic and research statement, any keywords that you think might be helpful as well as a date range, particular population you wish to study and geographic specifics if applicable.  I will then look over your topic carefully considering all Pace databases and available information and then I will contact you for a sit down consultation. 

The CONSULTATION usually runs about an hour depending on your topic. It is during this time that I will go over all the relevant information and guide you to and through the best research tools available.  I will demo several databases and answer any questions you might have about your topic and the research process.

Interlibrary Loan (Ordering nonPace Books and Journal Articles)

ILLiad  is the library’s interlibrary loan tool that allows you to request books, articles, dissertations or conference proceedings that Pace Library does not own from libraries all over the United States.

Follow the link below to go to the interlibrary loan page. If you are "new" to interlibrary loan, you will need to create an account and the form will ask for your Library Barcode Number.

If you need a barcode lookup, contact me: mlang@pace.edu  and I will email it to you.

Proper APA Citations . . . how to?

Creating proper APA citations can be challenging.  Two sources can help make it easier:        

 

1) Google Scholar - Pop your citation into Google Scholar, then . . . to grab a citation click on the Cite link below a search result and select from the available citation styles.

 

Always double check to make sure formatting is correct by running your citation through another great source: 

2) Son of Citation Machine 

Simmons One View

Simmons One View provides surveys of U.S. consumers about their lifestyle, buying, and media habits, and provides demographic and psychographic data. Simmons covers a wide variety of products, brands and services. The interface allows users to explore the data and create reports. Years covered: 2006-2011.  Simmons requires a separate password and user name. Login information available at the Birnbaum Reference Desk or the Mortola Reference Desk or contact  library@pace.edu  from your Pace e-mail or phone Birnbaum Library at (212) 364-1332 or Mortola Library at (914) 773-3380.

For the Simmons Library Guide click below.

Tutorials

Below are some quick tutorials that will aid you in your research, whether you are looking for scholarly articles, or a book or a dissertation or maybe a New York Times article . . . HELP is only a few clicks away.  There is also a brief tutorial on searching GOOGLE Scholar.   

You can also access many other “how to . . .”  Pace Video Tutorials by going to the following page: http://libguides.pace.edu/videos

Starting from Scratch: Best Databases

Pace Library subscribes to 210 databases and many are full-text. Select databases that include peer-reviewed articles: 

Asst Univ. Librarian for Graduate Services

Michelle Lang's picture
Michelle Lang
Contact:
Michelle Lang
Asst Univ. Librarian for Graduate Services
Pace University
Mortola Library, 2nd Floor, Pleasantville, NY
Birnbaum Library, 1st Floor, New York, NY
(212) 346-1778 rings at both offices

Looking for a Dissertation? ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

Is My Article Peer-Reviewed?

There are two ways to find out whether or not your selected journal article is peer-reviewed.  One way is via Google; follow these steps: 
1. Note the name of the journal from the citation.  2. Type the name "in quotes," into the regular version of Google in order to find that journal's homepage.  TIP: Journals typically state the fact that they are "peer reviewed" (also known as “refereed” or “juried” or "blind reviewed."  If, in the description, none of those words are used then you can be sure it is not "peer reviewed."
The next way to find out is via the Pace database called Ulrich's Web; follow these steps:
1. Note the name of journal from the citation. 2. Login to Ulrich's Web by going to the Pace Library homepage: www.pace.edu/library and click on the word "Databases" on the top menu bar. 3. Choose "U" from the alphabetical menu and then click on Ulrich's Web.  If you are off campus, you will need to input your Pace username and password.  Once in the database, type in the name of the journal in the search box for example:     Nature  then click on the title and a profile of the journal will appear.  Under the "basic description" there should be a line on the left side of the record that says: "refereed"  and a black symbol with the word YES.  If the black symbol does not appear then the journal is not peer-reviewed. 

Looking for Conference Proceedings?

When looking for the full-text of conference proceedings, begin at the Pace Library homepage: www.pace.edu/library

Click on "Journal Title" tab above the search box and type in the conference you are looking for.  After clicking "search" you should get a list of databases that index your conference and if nothing appears you can try Google Scholar and if that does not work you can request an inter-library loan.