A gateway to digitized documents, photographs, sound recordings, film clips, books, pamphlets, maps, sheet music, and other resources that illustrate and illuminate American history and culture. See for example, "The George Washington Papers, 1741-1799" or "Voices from the days of slavery: Interviews 1932-1975." Drawn mainly from the Library of Congress collections.
Years covered: 1500s-present
Newspaper articles published when an event took place can be considered a primary source:
Explore Duke University's digitized collections of diaries, letters, newspapers and additional primary sources. This collection offers insight into the life of African American women in the South.
"The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society."
From the Special Collections Library, Duke University. "The materials in this on-line archival collection document various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, and focus specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humorous plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group."
"These various approaches to the history of women are not exclusive. This sourcebook attempts to present online documents and secondary discussions which reflect the various ways of looking at the history of women within broadly defined historical periods and areas. "
This is part of the American Memory collection, Rare Book and Special Collections Division, Library of Congress. View texts, images, and illustrations from the collection.
The WGSSLinks: Archival Sites for Women and Gender Studies was developed and is maintained by by the
Women & Gender Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. Explore this list of archival collections.
Suggested Book Titles : Women's & Gender Studies History
Articles, books, and dissertations on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada, covering the years 1450 to the present. For history of the United States and Canada, see America: History and Life.
Years covered: 1450-present
Find articles on the history and culture of North America, including the U.S. and Canada. This database covers thousands of years of history on the continent from prehistoric times to the present.
Citations or full-page images of back issues of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources covering a wide range of topics.
Years covered: 1860s-present
