Skip to Main Content

Theater Arts

supporting research for actors, playwrights, directors, and performers
The Beekman Library Score Collection is located in the new 15 Beekman building on the 5th Floor!  Browsable by genre, composer/artist, title, and year/decade! 

Finding Individual Playscripts

Looking for a playscript or collection of plays? Check out these helpful tips for strategic searching in the Pace Library catalog! 

If you are looking for an individual play, you can type the title of the play and the last name of the author into the search box on the main library page, specifically under the Books & Media tab. 

  • For example: If you are looking for a copy of The Glass Menagerie by Tennessee Williams, you could type the following search term, being sure to limit the search to "Title" on the lefthand drop-down menu. 

Finding Collections of Plays

Many plays are published in collections, so you might have to try some other strategies.

  • TIP: Try typing in the last name of the author followed by the phrase "collected plays" "complete plays" or "complete works" to see if the play may be in a collection of the author's works. 

If you don't need a specific play but just want to browse collections or anthologies, you can do a subject search in the library catalog for broad topics such as:

  • Drama -- collections
  • Drama -- indexes
  • American drama -- collections
  • American drama -- Women authors

Or you can search for a publisher of plays such as "Dramatists Play Service" as an author and hundreds of individual titles of plays will come up in the catalog.

Browse our Play Collection!

Located on the 5th Floor of 15 Beekman, browse the Beekman Library's Playscipt Collection.

  • Modern & Contemporary American Plays
  • World Theatre & Playwrights
  • Scenebooks & Anthologies
  • Monologue Collections