Skip to main content

Course Reserves

E-Reserves
Items may be placed on Reserve at the circulation desk of any of the Pace Library locations. These items are ones that you anticipate being in high demand, and which you would like to have available for all students in a class. Loan periods on reserve materials may vary. Contact the library regarding Reserves as early as possible, as we may have to purchase some of the items. 

For articles, the library provides an Electronic Reserve system. Electronic Reserves allow us to provide password-protected, online access to articles you would have traditionally placed on print reserve. Articles are made available in Adobe Acrobat PDF format. Please see the "E-Reserves Guidelines for Faculty"

For more information on how to place items on reserve, please contact: 

Reference Services

The Pace University Library strives to provide access to quality reference services for both on and off-campus members of the Pace University Community. (See our complete Reference Mission Statement )

In keeping with that goal, we encourage faculty members to contact a member of the Reference staff when giving their students an assignment that could require the use of library materials. By discussing the assignment with a librarian first, we can together assess whether the library resources can support the assignment, and if a library instruction session may be valuable.

To contact a reference librarian during normal working hours: 

  • in Pleasantville, dial x33505
  • in New York, dial x11331

On the Ask a Librarian page, try our Live Chat

Distance Education Services

Refer to our Distance Education Services page for more information on what we can do for those of you teaching online courses

Instructional Services

Instructional Services

The mission of the Instructional Services team starts with helping the members of the Pace community to "become critical thinkers and competent users of information resources so that they are able to identify, retrieve, and evaluate information for use in curricular pursuits as well as lifelong learning."  

  • Schedule an Instruction Session for your students by contacting one of the Instruction Librarians - please remember we compete for time in the electronic classrooms, therefore we ask that you contact us as early in the semester as possible. 
  • Our video tutorials demonstrate how to use library resources, services and databases

Librarians in Blackboard

“Librarians in Blackboard"

Through this program a reference librarian is enrolled in your Blackboard course shell as a Teaching Assistant, and participates in your "Library Help" Discussion Board. It has proven valuable to have students post their research topics in a discussion board created specifically for this purpose. The reference librarian then checks the board on a regular basis to answer questions and to suggest starting points for research to each student.  

To be partnered with a librarian who can help your students via Blackboard, please contact:

Linking to Databases

Perhaps you want to encourage your students to search the journal literature in your field using a particular library subscription database. You can put a link to that database in your Blackboard course shell.

 

 

  • On the Library home page, click the Databases tab.
  • Click the "Databases A to Z" button.
  • From the alphabetical list of databases, click the link icon to the right of the database you want.
  • When the details page is shown, copy the URL of that page and paste it into your Blackboard course shell

This video demonstrates this process: https://youtu.be/VaMuw00HW6A

Persistent Links to Articles

Many of the library's subscription databases provide the ability to create persistent links - also called stable URLs - to full-text articles. By following these links, a user is taken directly to the article. These persistent links are created in different ways, depending on the database. These links can be made available from a Blackboard course page, a Discussion Board post, or from a web page. You must use our Persistent Link Builder  to make these links work from off-campus.

 

This video demonstrates this process: https://youtu.be/heAj691fYv0



For example - Here is a link to a full-text article in the Academic Search Premier database from Ebsco that has been processed using the Persistent Link Builder: 

Riddle, John S. "Where's the Library in Service Learning?: Models for Engaged Library Instruction." Journal of Academic Librarianship. Mar2003, Vol. 29 Issue 2, p71. http://rlib.pace.edu/login?url=http://search.epnet.com/direct.asp?an=9506023&db=aph

Streaming Films & Movies

 

Streaming Films

Pace University Library in collaboration with the Faculty Center, the Provost's Office, and ITS (Information Technology Services), is excited to provide Pace faculty with 24/7 access to over 17,000 commercial films in digital format. Films may be streamed online in class, or assigned to students to watch on their own time.

- Learn more on the Pace Digital Campus page

Technology Services

Laptops, digital cameras, Flip video cameras, and voice recorders are available for you and your students.

- in New York, equipment is available in the Collaborative Learning Room, located on the second floor. 

- in Pleasantville, equipment is available at the Technical Help Desk, located on the first floor.

Syllabi Review Project

Help us to add relevant items to our collection by sending us your syllabi each semester. We consider the Syllabi Review Project to be our major, ongoing Collection Development project. If we do not already own them, we will purchase those titles that are listed as "recommended readings." 

  • In Westchester, please send copies of your syllabi to Rose Gillen, Mortola Library. 
  • In New York City, please send copies of your syllabi to Greg Murphy, Birnbaum Library.  

Copyright and Fair Use

Learn about copyright and Fair Use from Document Services, ITS.