Homeland Security (MA in Management for Public Safety & Homeland Security)

Rand Corporation

The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decisionmaking through research and analysis.

RAND focuses on the issues that matter most such as health, education, national security, international affairs, law and business, the environment, and more. (About Rand).

Selected Research Areas & Findings:

Public Safety

Terrorism & Homeland Security

Counterterrorism, 

Public Health Preparedness 

Emergency Preparedness

from Boston University's Terrorism and International Security Guide

• American Foreign Policy Council Issues covered include: Aid to the Former USSR; Missile Threats & Defenses; Espionage, the KGB & the Russian Security Services; Reform in Russia; U.S.-China Relations, and Chemical Weapons. 
• Asia-Pacific Center for Security Studies Funded by the U.S. Department of Defense. 
• Carnegie Endowment for International Peace - Non-Proliferation Project "An internationally recognized source of information and analysis on weapons of mass destruction" (from the website).
• Cato Institute - Defense Studies Maintains an extensive publications program on topics such as military spending, NATO, and international security. 
• The Center for Defense Information A private, nongovernmental, and "independent monitor" of the military. Maintains the Arms Trade Database.
• Center for International Policy "Promoting a U.S. foreign policy based on peace, international cooperation, demilitarization and respect for basic human rights."(from the site) Topics include Cuba, Arms Trade, and Demilitarization. 
• Center for Nonproliferation Studies "The world's largest non-governmental organization devoted to combating the spread of weapons of mass destruction."(from the site) Resources by subject and by region.
• Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) Topics ranging from Defense and Preventive Diplomacy to Infectious Disease.
• Center for the Study of Technology and Society A major focus of the Center is National Security.
• Commonwealth Institute A public policy research organization with current projecs in defense and military affairs.
• Council on Foreign Relations - National Security Publishes Foreign Affairs, a leading journal on global issues.
• Federation of American Scientists (FAS). The FAS is a widely respected organization of scientists concerned with arms control issues
• Foreign Policy in Focus "A "think tank without walls" that functions as an international network of more than 650 policy analysts and advocates."(from the site)
• Global Focus - Flashpoints Provides country reports on current conflicts, ethnic violence, terrorism, nationalism, human rights, and foreign policy issues.
• Henry L. Stimson Center An independent, nonprofit, public policy institute committed to finding and promoting innovative solutions to the security challenges confronting the United States and other nations in the twenty-first century.
• Heritage Foundation Openly conservative in its views, the objective of Heritage is to present to policy-makers and opinion leaders, and especially members of Congress and their staff, factual and timely information on major issues of the day. 'Key issues' include matters of both domestic and foreign policy.
• Hoover Institution (Stanford University) Publishes research on political issues, foreign relations and diplomacy, economic issues, and security and defense. Publishes Essays in Public Policy 
• Institute for Global Communication (IGC) : Manages a number of 'Nets', including PeaceNet. Choose 'search documents' to find full-text material. 
• International Institute for Strategic Studies The IISS publishes Strategic Surveys focusing on trouble spots around the world. It also issues a World Directory of Strategic Studies Centres.
• International Relations and Security Network (ISN) ISN hosts (with SIPRI) Facts on International Relations and Security Trends (FIRST), a free-of-charge database on weapons, political systems, armed forces and peace-keeping activities.
• National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START)
• The National Security Archive "The National Security Archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. The Archive collects and publishes declassified documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)." (from the site) 
• Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) SIPRI was established as an international independent research institute "to conduct scientific research on questions of conflict and co-operation of importance for international peace and security, with the aim of contributing to an understanding of the conditions for peaceful solutions of international conflicts and for a stable peace."
• Terrorism Research Center ”an independent institute dedicated to the research of terrorism, information warfare and security, critical infrastructure protection, homeland security, and other issues of low-intensity political violence and gray-area phenomena’. (from the site)
• World Policy Institute Examines critical world problems in the United States and abroad. Organized by 'research project', such as 'Arms Trade'. The 'North America Project' explores issues of democracy, human rights, and environmental quality in the context of North American economic integration.

From Yale University's Terrorism and Security Studies Guide: