Skip to main content

Suggested Journal Titles

To access these journal titles, search for the journal title using the Journals tab from the library home page:

  • Arrows for Change
  • The Gay & Lesbian Review
  • Archives of Sexual Behavior
  • Contemporary Sexuality
  • Journal of the History of Sexuality
  • Sexuality and Disability
  • Sexuality & Culture
  • Journal of Homosexuality
  • TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly

Request Articles

Can't find the full-text? Click on to search across our resources!

If you're searching in a database, and cannot access the full text, that doesn't mean we won't have access in a different database. Click on the Search for Item link and see where else we might have it.

If the article is not available in our databases, you can also place a request through Interlibrary Loan.

Subject Specific Databases

The following databases represent more subject specific resources that you can use. To view more databases organized by subject, select "Databases" from the library homepage and select a subject from the drop down menu:

Multidisciplinary Databases

Subject Headings & Keywords & AND/OR/NOT

A Keyword Search will search for any time a word or phrase is mentioned in the description and/or record of an item.

 Starting your research with a keyword search can help you find more relevant subject terms, which can help you narrow (or expand) your search results.

Subject Terms and/or Headings are terms that are used to describe the content of an item.

Searching by subject will bring you materials that are explicitly about that topic. You can use subject terms to view items that have also been "tagged" as being about a particular topic.

Keep in mind, that subject terms and/or headings  are pre-selected. When you're starting your research try using both broad and specific terms - this will help you discover different subjects that you can also search by.

 

Suggested Subject Headings for LGTBQA/Queer Studies:

The following gives a brief overview of some related subject terms/headings that may be helpful in your research. Please note that this list is not finite, and that subject headings do not always reflect more commonly used terminology.

Searching in the library's resource can be  different than searching in Google.

By using AND, OR, or NOT  to combine your search terms, search for similar terms, or exclude terms, you can discover more relevant information on your topic:

Use "AND" to combine terms:  

(Gender Identity AND Homosexuality)

Use "OR" to use similar terms:  

(Sexual Orientation OR Homosexuality)

Use "NOT" to use exclude terms:  

(Heterosexuality NOT Homophobia)

Loading