Latin American Studies & Spanish

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Daily Life Through History gives a detailed portrayal of what life was like for ordinary people in different cultures throughout history. The series includes volumes on life during the Spanish Inquisition, and on the Maya, Inca and Aztec cultures.

This database includes online versions of reference books including Countries and Their Cultures and the Encyclopedia of Politics

The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Note: the Handbook provides citations for scholarly works on Latin America, not the text of the works themselves. Other search tools, such as the library catalog and databases, must be used to find the full text.

Oxford Art Online is an innovative gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources. Users can search by individual artist or work, or browse by region, culture, or artistic style.

This resource contains unique cultural materials from libraries and archives from around the world. The site includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, films, sound recordings, prints and photographs. It provides unrestricted public access, free of charge, to this material.