Skip to main content
How to find documents that cite a given article

ProQuest Databases at the Pace University Libraries

ProQuest allows you to search simultaneously in all of its databases to which Pace subscribes. The list is below:

  • ABI/Inform Complete
  • Accounting & Tax
  • Asian Business & Reference
  • Banking Information Source
  • Biological Science Collection
  • Biology Journals
  • Canadian Newsstand Complete
  • Career and Technical Education
  • CBCA Complete
  • Computing
  • Criminal Justice Periodicals
  • Doctoral Dissertations - Pace University
  • Education Journals 
  • European Business
  • Family Health
  • Health & Medical Complete
  • Hoover's Company Profiles
  • International Index to Performing Arts
  • New York Times (Archive) 1851-2007
  • Nursing & Allied Health Source
  • ProQuest Dissertation & Theses
  • ProQuest Health Management
  • ProQuest Psychology
  • ProQuest Telecommunications
  • Religion
  • Research Library
  • Science Journals
  • Social Science Journals
  • Snapshots

Citation Searching in ProQuest

Before you begin, use the dropdown menu at the top left to select all the databases you want to search in. For citation searching, it may be a good idea to select them all just to be certain you've found everything ProQuest has.

Any article you find that is cited by other articles in ProQuest will include a link to the citations: Clicking on the link will bring you to a bibliographic list of all the citing articles.

If you want to perform a citation search for all the citations to a particular author within the ProQuest databases, the only way to do it is to search a complete listing of the author's articles and then check each result to see if it contains the "cited by" link. When searching by author name, it is important to perform the following steps to make sure that you find all the possible variations on how the author was credited.

1. Select Advanced Search from among the search options. Go to the pull-down menu and choose "Author – AU." This will bring up the link "look up authors." Click the link.

2. Type in the author's last name, followed by the first initial. Click "Find." This will bring up a list of all the authors the database will retrieve as fitting that search string.

3. Scroll through the list and select all the variations that you want to include in your search. Click "Add to search" when you are done. This will bring you back to the advanced search screen, but now your search terms will be filled in.

4. Hit "Search." When you get your results list, scroll through it to find any articles that have the "cited by" link.