Library: Political Science: Government Structures &amp; Elections

Government Websites

Icon of a government building

Government websites provide more than just statistics and are valuable resources for legal archives, current policies and legislative information. The following sites are listed in order of local government (NYS) to federal resources.

New York State Senate
The website for the NY State Senate gives information about senators, bills and laws, news and events.
New York State Assembly
The website for the legislative branch of the NY State government which includes information on legislation, reports and committee updates.
New York County Courts
The NY County Courts website includes factual information on courts throughout the state, how to navigate the court system and procedural information.
Website for the City of New York
The official website for the city of New York provides information on various topic areas.
NY Board of Elections
The official website for the state-wide board of elections provides information on voting, election results and participating in elections.
United States Senate
The Senate is 1/2 of the legislative branch of the United States Congress and housed in the U.S. Capitol. This site provides information on all aspects of the branch as well as a reference service.
House of Representatives
The House of Representatives is 1/2 of the legislative branch of the United States Congress and housed in the U.S. Capitol. This site provides information on all aspects of the branch as well as a reference service.
The White House
The White House site provides updates and reports on the actions of the executive branch of the United States.
Supreme Court of the United States
The Supreme Court of the United States is the highest court in the judiciary branch of the United States.
Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
USA.gov
USAGov's mission is to make it easier for everyone to find and understand the government services and information they need—anytime, anywhere, any way they want.
Brown University Political Science Guide
This research guide provides an extensive list of additional governmental resources valuable to political science research.

Election Info & Fact-Checking

An icon of a box with the word voting on the front and a page with a check box on top

Bi-partisan polling, research and voting websites can provide valuable information about specific elections and election processes.

Gallup Polls: Political News
Frequently referenced by news sources, Gallup polls are a standard in political discourse to provide evidence of citizen views.
Pew Research
Pew Research provides bi-partisan polling and research analysis on a variety of topics including politics and elections.
The Living Room Candidate: Election Commercials Through the Years
The Museum of the Moving Image offers an online database of election commercials from 1952-2016.
FactCheck.org
A popular political fact-checking website that can be valuable resource for voters.
Cybersecurity & Infrastructure Security Agency: Rumor Control
Mis- and disinformation can undermine public confidence in the electoral process, as well as in our democracy. Elections are administered by state and local officials who implement numerous safeguards to protect the security of your vote pursuant to various state and federal laws and processes. This resource is designed to debunk common misinformation and disinformation narratives and themes that relate broadly to the security of election infrastructure and related processes.

Presidential History

Icon of a person behind a podium

As the highest office of government in the United States, the presidency and the White House are studied and archived on the following sites.

The American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project from UC Santa Barbara
White House Presidential History
A timeline of presidential history from The White House website.
Miller Center: The Presidency
The University of Virginia's Miller Center's Presidency collection
Presidential Libraries
Information on presidential libraries from the National Archives

ACADEMICS AT PACE

LIFE ON CAMPUS

CAREER PREPARATION

ADMISSION & AID

Political Science

Election Theory & Third Parties Books

Government Websites

Election Info & Fact-Checking

Presidential History