Pace University Library in collaboration with the CTLT (Center for Teaching Learning and Technology) and ITS (Information Technology Services), is excited to provide Pace faculty with 24/7 access to over 17,000 commercial films in digital format. Films may be streamed online in class, or assigned to students to watch on their own time.
- Learn more on the Pace Digital Campus page
The Pace University Library strives to provide access to quality reference services for both on and off-campus members of the Pace University Community. (See our complete Reference Mission Statement )
In keeping with that goal, we encourage faculty members to contact a member of the Reference staff when giving their students an assignment that could require the use of library materials. By discussing the assignment with a librarian first, we can together assess whether the library resources can support the assignment, and if a library instruction session may be valuable.
To contact a reference librarian during normal working hours:
On the Ask a Librarian page, try our Live Chat.
The mission of the Instructional Services team starts with helping the members of the Pace community to "become critical thinkers and competent users of information resources so that they are able to identify, retrieve, and evaluate information for use in curricular pursuits as well as lifelong learning."
“Librarians in Classes"
Through this program a reference librarian is enrolled in your Classes LMS course shell as a "Librarian" or "Teaching Assistant," and participates in your "Library Help" Discussion Board. It has proven valuable to have students post their research topics in a discussion board created specifically for this purpose. The reference librarian then checks the board on a regular basis to answer questions and to suggest starting points for research to each student.
To be partnered with a librarian who can help your students via Blackboard, please contact:
Perhaps you want to encourage your students to search the journal literature in your field using a particular library subscription database. You can put a link to that database in your Blackboard course shell.
This video demonstrates this process: https://youtu.be/jz3W9sZQdbU
Many of the library's subscription databases provide the ability to create persistent links - also called stable URLs - to full-text articles. By following these links, a user is taken directly to the article. These persistent links are created in different ways, depending on the database. These links can be made available from a Blackboard course page, a Discussion Board post, or from a web page. You must use our Persistent Link Builder to make these links work from off-campus.
This video demonstrates this process: https://youtu.be/S0IV3WqU8l0
For example - Here is a link to a full-text article in the Gale OneNews database that has been processed using the Persistent Link Builder:
"Digital Literacy and Ethics: Navigating the AI-Enhanced Classroom." Digital Learning, 20 Feb. 2024, p. NA. Gale OneFile: News, Accessed 27 Feb. 2024. http://rlib.pace.edu/login?url=https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A783043452/STND?u=nysl_me_pace&sid=bookmark-STND&xid=9ae5fbb5
E-Reserves
Items may be placed on Reserve at the circulation desk of any of the Pace Library locations. These items are ones that you anticipate being in high demand, and which you would like to have available for all students in a class. Loan periods on reserve materials may vary. Contact the library regarding Reserves as early as possible, as we may have to purchase some of the items.
For articles, the library provides an Electronic Reserve system. Electronic Reserves allow us to provide password-protected, online access to articles you would have traditionally placed on print reserve. Articles are made available in Adobe Acrobat PDF format. Please see the "E-Reserves Guidelines for Faculty"
For more information on how to place items on reserve, please contact:
