Highlighted Reseource: Basic Chemistry textbook from OpenStax.
https://openstax.org/details/chemistry This title may be viewed online for free, downloaded for free, or printed from through Amazon for $55.00.
Senior Authors for this version of the text are:
This is a basic chemistry textbook which may be appropriate for Che 101 or Che 111. It has supplementary material that may assist students with some of the more challenging concepts. One example is balancing a chemical equation (stoichiometry) which is available from the University of Colorado (Boulder) https://phet.colorado.edu/en/simulation/balancing-chemical-equations. This text also includes end of chapter exercises to reinforce concepts.
Table of Contents for this book
Essential Ideas -- Atoms, Molecules, and Ions -- Composition of Substances and Solutions -- Stoichiometry of Chemical Reactions – Thermochemistry -- Electronic Structure and Periodic Properties of Elements -- Chemical Bonding and Molecular Geometry -- Advanced Theories of Covalent Bonding -- Gases -- Liquids and Solids -- Solutions and Colloids -- Kinetics -- Fundamental Equilibrium Concepts -- Acid-Base Equilibria -- Equilibria of Other Reaction Classes -- Thermodynamics – Electrochemistry -- Representative Metals, Metalloids, and Nonmetals -- Transition Metals and Coordination Chemistry -- Organic Chemistry -- Nuclear Chemistry.
Supplemental Tables included with the book:
The Periodic Table -- Essential Mathematics -- Units and Conversion Factors -- Fundamental Physical Constants -- Water Properties -- Composition of Commercial Acids and Bases -- Standard Thermodynamic Properties for Selected Substances -- Ionization Constants of Weak Acids -- Ionization Constants of Weak Bases -- Solubility Products -- Formation Constants for Complex Ions -- Standard Electrode (Half-Cell) Potentials -- Half-Lives for Several Radioactive Isotopes
Other Resources
Concept Development Studies in Chemistry
Description: "Concept Development Studies in Chemistry" is an on-line textbook for an Introductory General Chemistry course. Each module develops a central concept in Chemistry from experimental observations and inductive reasoning. This approach complements an interactive or active learning teaching approach.
Description: The goal of this textbook is not to make you an expert. True expertise in any field is a years-long endeavor. Here I will survey some of the basic topics of chemistry. This survey should give you enough knowledge to appreciate the impact of chemistry in everyday life and, if necessary, prepare you for additional instruction in chemistry. Throughout each chapter, I present two features that reinforce the theme of the textbook—that chemistry is all around you. The first is a feature titled, appro...[more]
Description: A free, open-access organic chemistry textbook (volumes I and II) in which the main focus is on relevance to biology and medicine. This is a PDF version of a wiki project called Chemwiki at the University of California, Davis. There are also supplementary materials, such as PowerPoint slides and a solutions manual available for this textbook at the Chemwiki website.
Description: Analytical chemistry is more than a collection of analytical methods and an understanding of equilibrium chemistry; it is an approach to solving chemical problems. Although equilibrium chemistry and analytical methods are important, their coverage should not come at the expense of other equally important topics. The introductory course in analytical chemistry is the ideal place in the undergraduate chemistry curriculum for exploring topics such as experimental design, sampling, calibration stra...[more]
Description: The goal of this textbook is not to make you an expert. True expertise in any field is a years-long endeavor. Here I will survey some of the basic topics of chemistry. This survey should give you enough knowledge to appreciate the impact of chemistry in everyday life and, if necessary, prepare you for additional instruction in chemistry. Throughout each chapter, I present two features that reinforce the theme of the textbook—that chemistry is all around you. The first is a feature titled, appro...[more]
Highlighted Resource: Biology https://openstax.org/details/biology
This title may be viewed online for free, downloaded for free, or printed through Amazon.com for $52.50.
Biology is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes clicker questions to help students understand—and apply—key concepts.
Senior Contributing Authors
Unit 1. The Chemistry of Life
1. The Study of Life -- 2. The Chemical Foundation of Life -- 3. Biological Macromolecules
Unit 2. The Cell
4. Cell Structure -- 5. Structure and Function of Plasma Membranes -- 6. Metabolism -- 7. Cellular Respiration -- 8. Photosynthesis
9. Cell Communication -- 10. Cell Reproduction
Unit 3. Genetics
11. Meiosis and Sexual Reproduction -- 12. Mendel's Experiments and Heredity -- 13. Modern Understandings of Inheritance -- 14. DNA Structure and Function -- 15. Genes and Proteins -- 16. Gene Expression -- 17. Biotechnology and Genomics
Unit 4. Evolutionary Processes
18. Evolution and the Origin of Species -- 19. The Evolution of Populations -- 20. Phylogenies and the History of Life
Unit 5. Biological Diversity
21. Viruses -- 22. Prokaryotes: Bacteria and Archaea -- 23. Protists -- 24. Fungi -- 25. Seedless Plants -- 26. Seed Plants -- 27. Introduction to Animal Diversity -- 28. Invertebrates -- 29. Vertebrates
Unit 6. Plant Structure and Function
30. Plant Form and Physiology -- 31. Soil and Plant Nutrition -- 32. Plant Reproduction
Unit 7. Animal Structure and Function
33. The Animal Body: Basic Form and Function -- 34. Animal Nutrition and the Digestive System -- 35. The Nervous System -- 36. Sensory Systems -- 37. The Endocrine System -- 38. The Musculoskeletal System -- 39. The Respiratory System -- 40. The Circulatory System -- 41. Osmotic Regulation and Excretion -- 42. The Immune System -- 43. Animal Reproduction and Development
Unit 8. Ecology
44. Ecology and the Biosphere -- 45. Population and Community Ecology -- 46. Ecosystems -- 47. Conservation Biology and Biodiversity
Highlighted Resource - College Physics https://openstax.org/details/college-physics This title may be viewed online for free, downloaded for free, or printed through Amazon.com for $48.50
Senior Authors for this version of the text are:
College Physics meets standard scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory algebra-based physics course. The text is grounded in real-world examples to help students grasp fundamental physics concepts. It requires knowledge of algebra and some trigonometry, but not calculus. College Physics includes learning objectives, concept questions, links to labs and simulations, and ample practice opportunities for traditional physics application problems.
Table of Contents:
Introduction: The Nature of Science and Physics -- Kinematics -- Two-Dimensional Kinematics -- Dynamics: Force and Newton's Laws of Motion -- Further Applications of Newton's Laws: Friction, Drag, and Elasticity -- Uniform Circular Motion and Gravitation -- Work, Energy, and Energy Resources -- Linear Momentum and Collisions -- Statics and Torque -- Rotational Motion and Angular Momentum -- Fluid Statics -- Fluid Dynamics and Its Biological and Medical Applications -- Temperature, Kinetic Theory, and the Gas Laws -- Heat and Heat Transfer Methods -- Thermodynamics -- Oscillatory Motion and Waves -- Physics of Hearing -- Electric Charge and Electric Field -- Electric Potential and Electric Field -- Electric Current, Resistance, and Ohm's Law -- Circuits and DC Instruments -- Magnetism -- Electromagnetic Induction, AC Circuits, and Electrical Technologies -- Electromagnetic Waves -- Geometric Optics -- Vision and Optical Instruments -- Wave Optics -- Special Relativity -- Introduction to Quantum Physics -- Atomic Physics -- Radioactivity and Nuclear Physics -- Medical Applications of Nuclear Physics -- Particle Physics -- Frontiers of Physics
Other Resources
Description: Calculus-Based Physics is an introductory physics textbook designed for use in the two-semester introductory physics course typically taken by science and engineering students
Description: Calculus-Based Physics is an introductory physics textbook designed for use in the two-semester introductory physics course typically taken by science and engineering students.
