Skip to main content
This guide focuses on topics related to children's literature and the arts and their impact on children's education and development.

Children's Literature Web sites

ALA Association for Library Services to Children: Provides resources for librarians, parents and educators, including lists of recommended books.

Children's Book Council: The Children’s Book Council (CBC) is the nonprofit trade association of children’s book publishers in North America, dedicated to supporting the industry and promoting children’s books and reading.

Children's Literature Association: The Children’s Literature Association (ChLA) is a non-profit association of scholars, critics, professors, students, librarians, teachers and institutions dedicated to the academic study of literature for children.

Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University: A collection of picture book abstracts searchable by topics, concepts, and skills for building content area reading across all academic subjects. The collection contains abstracts of over 5700 picture books for children, preschool to grade three.

International Children's Digital Library: Free children's e-books from around the world. 

International Literacy Association: Founded as the International Reading Association (IRA), the International Literacy Association (ILA) has worked to enhance literacy instruction through research and professional development for 60 years.

 

Children's Literature Awards

The most distinguished book contribution to American literature for children.

  • American Indian Youth Literature Book Award
  • Carter G. Woodson Book Award
  • Charlotte Huck Award
  • Coretta Scott King Award
  • Dolly Gray Award
  • Erza Jack Keats Award
  • Jane Addams Book Award
  • Laura Ingalls Wilder Award
  • Margaret A. Edwards Award
  • Michael L. Printz Award
  • Mildred L. Batchelder
  • Green Earth Book Award 
  • Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children
  • Pura Belpré Award
  • Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award
  • Schneider Family Book Award
  • Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction
  • Sydney Taylor Book Award
  • Theodor Seuss Geisel Medal
  • Tomas Rivera Mexican American Book Award
  • International Awards

    Scholarly Journals and Reviews

    Your Librarian

    Jennifer Rosenstein's picture
    Jennifer Rosenstein
    Contact:
    212-346-1051
    Social:Twitter Page
     

    GUIDE: siteMap 2.0