Major Tabs on the Library Website
Use the Quick Search to do something like Google the library. You’ll find a bit of everything (book titles, journal and magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, etc.) Tip: Use the filters to narrow your results to only articles or only books, etc. The filters work exactly like filters online when you are shopping, helpful but not perfect. We never recommend using only Quick Search, but it's a good starting point.
Use Books & Media when you are searching for a particular book or for books about a research topic, perhaps from a Wikipedia entry or the References in an article or in another book. Books are rarely available for free on the Internet, so make sure you take advantage of what the library owns. We have both e-books and "print" books. Search by keyword by default, or try Subject if you have a well known research topic.
Use Journal Title when you have the citation to an article but still need to find the article itself (full text). This tool tells you if any of the subscription databases have a particular journal full text and the years of coverage. You’ll be taken directly to an ILL link if the journal isn’t available via Pace.
Use the Databases to search for scholarly journal or magazine articles. Start by viewing databases by Subject. Or pick a database from the A-Z title list if you know the title (also see the Databases tab in this guide for recommendations). If you need peer-reviewed articles, you can limit your search results to peer-reviewed articles. Always choose the Advanced Search screen if it isn’t already open.
Use the Interlibrary Loan service when you know that an article or book exists but you still need the full-text article or the actual book and can’t find it at the Pace Library. There's a link on the right side of the Library website You can also click on the screenshot below. Email me anytime for help: sthomas7@pace.edu
