Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 120 Becker Fall 2022

Major Tabs on the Library Website

Use the Quick Search to do something a bit like Googling the library's collections. You’ll find a bit of everything (book titles, film titles, journal and magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, etc.) Tip:  Use the filters to narrow your results to only articles or only books, etc. The filters work exactly like filters online when you are shopping, helpful but not perfect.

Use Books & Media when you are searching for a particular book, perhaps from the bibliography, from a Wikipedia entry, or from the References in an article or in another book.

Note: if you are looking for a book and don’t get a result at Pace, expand to Libraries Worldwide. Check that box! You can request the book through InterLibrary Loan aka ILL.

Use Journal Title when you have the citation to an article but still need to find the tull text of the article itself. This tool tells you if any of the subscription databases have a particular journal full text and the years of coverage. You’ll be taken directly to an ILL link if the journal isn’t available via Pace.

Use the Databases to search for scholarly journal or magazine articles. Start by selecting a database from the A-Z title list or by Subject. Always choose the Advanced Search screen if it isn’t already open. If you need peer-reviewed articles, you can limit your search results to them. Note there are errors, however. For example, an opinion piece may be published in a peer-reviewed journal, but that piece is not peer-reviewed. The article type should be research or scholarship and be supported with References and often with data; it should not be solely opinion or conversation.

Use the Interlibrary Loan service when you know that an article or book exists but now you need the full-text article or the actual book and can’t find it at the Pace Library. This happens when searching some of the databases. Email me anytime for help: sthomas7@pace.edu

Click here to acceess the Pace Libraries Website