About the Pace Zine Library
Click HERE to see a list of zines and related self-publications in Pace Zine Library!
The Pace Zine Library is located at 41 Park Row, 15th floor (English dept.), room 1523. Thank you to the English Department for having us!
Click here to view hours when someone is staffing the Zine Library and it is open for drop-in visitors. NOTE: in upper right area, change the view from month to week or day to see all the details. You can also make an appointment if these hours don't work for you. Email us at zinelibrary@pace.edu.
a partial view of the Zine Library!
Websites with Digitized or Born-Digital Zines
Websites for Browsing Digitized (originally printed on paper) or Born Digital Zine
-
Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP)he Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities. from the website.
-
Printed Matter Digital Downloadsespecially great for contemporary protest zines and pamphlets and the 1980s NYC literary journal The Portable Lower East Side.
-
Sherwood Forest Zine Library (Austin, TX)from website: Check out our collection of hundreds of free downloadable pdfs and links to online readable zines!
***PLEASE NOTE - These zines are all focused on Black issues, protests/activism guides, law enforcement, abolishing policing, etc. -
Pace University Student Zines on Digital CommonsBorn digital or digitized zines made various classes at Pace.
-
Student Zines at SUNY College at New Paltz12 student-made zines about life during the Covid-19 Pandemic
-
Berea College Library Digitized ZinesAn online, full-text sampling of the zine collection housed in Berea College's Hutchins Library. Zines digitized as PDF files.
-
Zines on the Internet ArchiveThis is a collection of uncensored, digitized zines, mainly from the late 20th Century. Searchable by title, subject, topic, date published, creator, and more.
-
HIV Doula WorkDigital downloads of zines or pamphlets published by What Would an HIV Doula Do?, "a community of people joined in response to the ongoing AIDS Crisis. We understand a doula as someone who holds space during times of transition." Includes Covid era pamphlets as well.
-
Exile Books "Zine Pool"digitized or born digital zines submitted to Exile Books (Miami, Florida)
-
Barnard Zines with Online LinksClick on the title and then look for online link in upper right area. Some of these zines have been digitized so that you can get the original booklet version of the zine by printing out double sided and then folding and/or staping. Others are scanned as PDF files or other formats. They can be printed out in most cases, but not in the original booklet form.
-
Punk Planet Archive (on Internet Archive)Punk Planet was a 16,000 print run punk zine, based in Chicago, Illinois, from 1994-1007. It focused most of its energy on looking at punk subculture rather than punk as simply a music genre. In addition to covering music, Punk Planet also covered visual arts and a wide variety of progressive issues — including media criticism, feminism, and labor issues. (from website)
-
Solidarity! Revolutionary Center and Radical LibraryLocated in Lawrence, Kansas the mission of Solidarity! Revolutionary Center and Radical Library is to organize as a non-hierarchical collective for the purpose of sharing and distributing information. The collection is compiled of Zines (personal, non-copy written, non-traditionally peer reviewed articles, journals, and art) that were specifically purchased, donated, traded, or created for the Solidarity! Collection. These works cover every topic from Globalization and the Industrial Prison Complex to first kisses. from the website.
-
Project Nia Digitized PublicationsLaunched in 2009, Project NIA is an advocacy, organizing, popular education, research, and capacity-building center with the long-term goal of ending youth incarceration. This is a collection of over 50 zine publications, either "born digital" or digitized
-
MORUS Zine LibraryThe Museum of Reclaimed Urban Space Zine Library was created to support the museum’s mission of preserving and promoting the history of grassroots activism in the Lower East Side of Manhattan.
-
Quarantine Zine ClubAustralian pandemic-era club that includes PDF versions of zines made from 2020-2021.
-
Quarantine Public Library
Quarantine Public Library is a repository of books (one-page aka mini zines) made by artists. "The works published here are for anyone to freely download, print and assemble—to keep or give away." -
Queer-Themes Zines on Issuu platformThis collection includes zines and related indie publications. Issu enables visitor to "turn the pages" of zines online, using the arrows
-
People of Color Zine Project on Issuu"Since 2010, POC Zine Project has made it easier for people around the world to find a diverse selection of zines & other independent materiality made by BIPOC"
Some Comments on Digitization
It's wonderful that many historical zines and related publications have been digitized and made widely available. There are a couple points to make about this, however:
(1) Not all zinesters are ok with having their zines digitized and uploaded on the Open Internet. Similarly, some zinesters are not supportive of zines being collected by authoritative institutions like libraries, colleges and universities, and museums. Each of the collections listed in this guide has its own policies and guidelines for digitizing. Institutions or projects should remove material online or in print if the creator/zinester requests the removal.
(2) When zines are digitized, they usually lose their original formatting. Software such as issuu can be used to create a booklet with pages that can be virtually turned. Usually, though, zine pages are just scanned and the zine is turned into a PDF file of single-column pages. (Booklets have two columns.) This is the trade off for being able to view the publication in the digital format.
(3) Mini zines are zines made on one piece of 8.5 x 11 paper. The form of this zine is compromised when viewed on the Internet. Half of it will be upside down! However, anyone can download and print such a zine. The trick is to know how to fold and cut it. Here's an example of a mini zine: Random Things I See on the Streets of Bushwick, Brooklyn That Kinda Make Sense? by Daniel Fishel, from the Quarantine Public Library: The only issue with this zine is having enough color ink to print it!
Topical Zines
Have you Heard of the megajail in Chinatown? created by the W.O.W. Project, "a women, queer, and trans-led community initiative using art and activism to grow and protect NYC Chinatown’s creative culture in a time of rapid change" (from the website). This zine was written by Denise Zhou, illustrated by Singha Hon, translated by Banyi Haung and Di Wang. Printed by Lucky Risograph. Originally published in Chinese.
Black Lives Matter ABC's Book Words by James Chow, art by Justin Chow. Publisher Cabrón James.
From Printed Matter website: Alphabet book in which ever letter represents one of the 318 unarmed Black people who have lost their lives to police brutality since Eric Garner in 2014. - Cabrón James