Scholarly/Academic Journals are publications created by and for scholars. Depending on the academic discipline, they can include primary research or scientific studies, secondary analysis, criticism, reviews, and/or theory. Journals also provide for some schoarly communications between scholars through the Peer-Review Process.
For your assignment, you need to find at least three-to-four reliable sources, including academic journal articles, using library databases. For help learning how to use and navigate these databases to find peer-reviewed articles, please check out the following resources!
What is a database?
A database is a collection of information that is organized so that it can be easily accessed. Databases typically allow you to search across a multitude of resources: everything from newspaper and magazine articles, to more subject specific scholarly journal articles and peer reviewed materials.
Through Pace Libraries, you have access to approximately 200 databases that cover a wide range of topics.
Not sure where you need to look? You can explore all of our databases organized by Subject to get a better sense of what's available to you.
The Library subscribes to over 200 hundred databases.
To browse and search databases organized by subject,
- Select "Databases" from the library homepage
- Select a subject from the drop down menu:
- Once you choose a subject, you can browse the list of relevant databases.
Relevant Databases
Included below are some of the best databases accessible to Pace students for ENG 120 research. There are also a few Gender Studies-specific databases with both primary and secondary sources available on a rage of gender studies topics, including masculinity, gender roles, race, class, etc.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCitations or full-page images of back issues of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources covering a wide range of topics.
Years covered: 1860s-present - Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
- Credo Reference Academic Core This link opens in a new windowThis is a collection of reference ebooks on a variety of topics. A good starting resource for research sources.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowViewpoint essays, articles, statistics, and more giving the pro and con sides on topical social and political issues.
Years covered: 18th Century-present - SAGE Journals This link opens in a new windowJournal articles in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Years covered: 1847-present. Note: We subscribe to full-text for 1999-present on select titles only.
- Women's Issues and Identities This link opens in a new windowGlobal history from the female perspective.Coverage of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, and the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives. Provides multinational perspectives and historical records on women's experiences and cultural impact.