Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Westchester County Government
Westchester County Resources
These local resources range from public library collections to genealogical archives and can provide valuable primary and secondary sources on Westchester County.
Westchester Library System Catalog
Search all Westchester County Library collections using this catalog tool.
Westchester County Archives
Access a variety of historical content related to Westchester County. Open to the public in person: Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
2199 Saw Mill River Road, Elmsford (914) 592-1925
Westchester County Historical Society
The Historical Society’s collection complements the County Archives, housed in the same location.
Westchester County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 518
White Plains, NY 10603-0518
Westchester County Newspaper Collections
“This is a list of locations within Westchester County that have copies of Westchester County newspapers either on microfilm or the actual newspapers. Listing here does not mean that the library or other location has the resources to do searches for individuals. Contact them for their policy."
Historic Hudson Valley
This Web page provides access to information on six national historic landmarks in the Hudson River Valley: Sunnyside, Washington Irving's riverfront home, in Tarrytown; Philipsburg Manor, a 300-year-old working farm and gristmill in Sleepy Hollow; Kykuit, the Rockefeller house & gardens, in Pocantico Hills; The Union Church of Pocantico Hills, with stained glass windows by Marc Chagall and Henri Matisse; Van Cortlandt Manor, manor house, tenant farmer's house and 18th-century tavern, in Croton-On-Hudson; and Montgomery Place, with formal gardens, woodland walks, and a mansion overlooking the Hudson River and Catskill Mountains in Annandale-On-Hudson.
Local Historical Societies
Local Historical Societies:
If you are looking for information specific to a town or area, do a search for the place name + historical society to find a localized group that can provide historical information. (Example: Chappagua NY Historical Society)
More Relevant Historical Sites:
American Memory from the Library of Congress
The Library of Congress has digitized many of its collections for access to the public online, including American History collections.
Ellis Island Records
Linked through the National Parks Service, Ellis Island Records are searchable online through a variety of sites.
Hudson River Valley Institute
"The Hudson River Valley Institute at Marist College is the academic arm of the Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area. Its mission is to study and to promote the Hudson River Valley and to provide educational resources for heritage tourists, scholars, elementary school educators, environmental organizations, the business community, and the general public. Its many projects include the publication of the Hudson River Valley Review and the management of a dynamic digital library and leading regional portal site."
Hudson Valley Heritage
"Explore digital content from libraries and cultural heritage institutions that document the rich history of New York’s Hudson River Valley. Discover photographs, diaries, correspondence, artwork, newspapers, oral history interviews, and more that contribute to the story of the people, places, and events that make this region exceptional."
Hudson Valley Ruins
Explore abandoned ruins throughout Westchester and surrounding counties.
John Jay Homestead
"John Jay Homestead State Historic Site is one of the six state historic sites and twelve parks administered by the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation–Taconic Region."
National Register of Historic Places
"The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources."
New York State Archives
"The New York State Archives preserves and makes accessible over 250 million records of New York’s State and colonial governments dating from 1630 to the present."
Pace University History
Learn about the history of Pace University and its campuses.
Home of Franklin D. Roosevelt - National Park Service Page
Located in Hyde Park, NY, the Franklin D. Roosevelt home is part of the National Parks Service historical landmarks.