Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias can provide definitions and brief historical context to topics in political science.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights by ISBN: 9780195334029The set will provide situation profiles and full coverage of the development of the movement, historical cases of abuse, the key figures, major organizations, and a range of other issues in economics, government, religion, and journalism that touch on human rights theory and practice.
Encyclopedia of Democracy by ISBN: 0871876752Publication Date: 1995-11-01With over 400 articles written by more than 200 international scholars, readers gain access to all aspects of democracy from its earliest stirrings to such recent developments as the end of eastern European communism and South African apartheid.
Encyclopedia of International Peacekeeping Operations by ISBN: 0874368928Publication Date: 1999-05-01Encyclopedia of International Peacekeeping Operations analyzes the broad national, regional, cultural, and international contexts of peacekeeping.
The Encyclopedia of New York City by Call Number: Mortola Reference Desk F118 .E57 2000 v.1ISBN: 9780300182576Publication Date: 2010-12-01A newly updated, expanded edition of the most comprehensive one-volume reference work on New York City ever compiled.
Statistics & Data
Statistics and data provide important evidence for political conversations. Government and organization sites are valuable resources for this information.
- Brown University Political Science Guide: Statistics ResourcesThis Research Guide provides a list of national international statistics sources related to governmental and political topics.
- Food and Agriculture Organization of the United NationsThe Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations is a specialized agency of the United Nations that leads international efforts to defeat hunger and improve nutrition and food security.
- Pew Research CenterPew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
- Statistical Abstracts Series ArchiveThe U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011. Statistical Abstract data present here ranges from our most recent edition to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades.
- U.S. Bureau of Economic AnalysisThe U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis is your source of accurate and objective data about the nation's economy.
BEA's economists produce some of the world's most closely watched statistics, including U.S. gross domestic product, better known as GDP. We do state and local numbers, too, plus foreign trade and investment stats and industry data. - United States Census (data.census.gov)The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
- OpenSecretsOpenSecrets is the nation's premier research and government transparency group tracking money in politics and its effect on elections and policy.
Think Tanks
- NIRA World Directory of Think Tanks"Since 1993, NIRA's Center for Policy Research has published NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks (NWDTT), which provides a systematic introduction to the world's most prominent and innovative public policy research institutes, better known as think tanks."
- WWW Virtual Library: Research InstitutesThis WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources is an Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in many international and global studies topics.
- University of North Florida Research Guide: Think TanksThe UNF Library Research Guide provides a list of think tanks "that represent a broad spectrum of political thought in the United States."