Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Health, Primary Health Care and Epidemiology

This guide lists resources for finding public health and epidemiology related articles and statistics.

U.S. Census

American FactFinder Advanced Search

This video shows one example of how to find data using the Advanced Search in American FactFinder.  The example in the video shows how to find data on place of birth for immigrant populations, comparing across the 5 boros of New York City. 

Demographic Data

  • AARP State Data Center

    The AARP Public Policy Institute analyzes and publishes a wide range of state-specific data related to Americans over 50. (AARP) 

  • Bureau of Justice Statistics 

    Criminal justice statistics including statistics on crime, criminal offenders, and victims of crime. (Department of Justice (DoJ) USA) 

  • Children of Immigrants Data Tool 

    Interactive tool designed to generate charts and tables with indicators on children, age 0 to 17, for the United States and for the 50 states and the District of Columbia using data from the American Community Survey. (Urban Institute (UI)) 

  • Current Population Survey (CPS) 

    The Current Population Survey (CPS) is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States. It provides data on a wide range of issues relating to employment and earnings. (Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), U.S. Census Bureau) 

  • DATA.gov 

    Provides access to datasets generated by the Federal Government and includes descriptions of the datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. (United States Government) 

  • Diversitydata.org 

    Diversitydata.org allows visitors to explore how metropolitan areas throughout the U.S. perform on a diverse range of social measures that comprise a well-rounded life experience. The site provides access to socioeconomic indicators for metropolitan areas in the form of tables, thematic maps, and customizable reports. (Center for Advancing Health USA, Harvard School of Public Health) 

  • FedStats 

    Provides links to Federal data access tools as well as statistics from more than 100 agencies.

  • Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) Data Sets 

    Population databases that include IPUMS - USA, data on people in the U.S. census and American Community Survey; IPUMS-CPS, data on people in the Current Population Survey; the North American Population Project (NAPP); the National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS); and the Integrated Health Interview Survey (IHIS), an integrated version of the U.S. National Health Interview Survey. (Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota US) 

  • KIDS COUNT Data Center 

    Provides access to hundreds of measures of child well-being to track the educational, social, economic, and physical well-being of children state by state. (Annie E. Casey Foundation) 

  • National Center for Education Statistics 

    The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. (Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education (IES)) 

  • SNAPS: Snap Shots of State Population Data 

    SNAPS provides local-level community profile information nationwide. It can be browsed by county and state and searched by zip code. SNAPS serves as a valuable tool when responding to public health emergency events at the state, Tribal, and local levels. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

Federal Government Sites

Related Guides