Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Public Health, Primary Health Care and Epidemiology

This guide lists resources for finding public health and epidemiology related articles and statistics.

Epidemiology Sites

 

U.S. Epidemiology Sites and Research Institutes


 


 

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)

 


 

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

 


 

Indian Health Service (IHS)

 


 

Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion

 


 

Office of Global Health Affairs

 


 

Office of Minority Health

 


 

CDC: Office of National AIDS Policy

 


 

Office of Population Affairs (OPA)

 


 

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)

 


 

Food and Drug Administration

 


 

Office of Research on Women's Health

 


 

NCI - National Cancer Institute

 


 

Division of Cancer Epidemiology and Genetics (DCEG)

 


 

NEI - National Eye Institute

 


 

NHLBI - National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

 


 

NHGRI - National Human Genome Research Institute

 


 

NIA - National Institute on Aging

 


 

NIAAA - National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism

 


 

NIAID - National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

 


 

NIAMS - National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases

 


 

NICHD - National Institute of Child Health and Human Development

 


 

NIDCD - National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders

 


 

NIDCR - National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research

 


 

NIDDK - National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases

 


 

NIDA - National Institute on Drug Abuse

 


 

NIEHS - National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

 


 

NIGMS - National Institute of General Medical Sciences

 


 

NIMH - National Institute of Mental Health

 


 

NINDS - National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke

 


 

NINR - National Institute of Nursing Research

 


 

CSR - Center for Scientific Review (formerly Division of Research Grants)

 


 

FIC - John E. Fogarty International Center

 


 

NCCAM - National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine

 


 

NCMHD - National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities

 


 

CC - Clinical Center


 

Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

 


 

Environmental Protection Agency

 


 

DOE Comprehensive Epidemiologic Data Resource (CEDR)

 


 

Public Health Repositories

  • Area Resource File (ARF) 

    The ARF database contains more than 6,000 variables for each of the nation's counties and provides information on health facilities, health professions, measures of resource scarcity, health status, economic activity, health training programs, and socioeconomic and environmental characteristics. (Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)) 

  • Community Health Needs Assessment (CHNA) 

    Web-based platform designed to assist hospitals, non-profit organizations, state and local health departments, and other organizations seeking to identify assets and potential disparities in their communities. (Community Commons USA, Institute for People, Place & Possibility (IP3)) 

  • County Health Calculator 

    Tool for advocates and policy makers to understand and demonstrate how education and income affect health. (Virginia Commonwealth University Center on Human Needs) 

  • County Health Rankings & Roadmaps 

    Provides county-by-county health rankings for each of the 50 states and Washington DC, explanations of each health factor, and actionable strategies to improve the health of communities across the nation. (Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), University of Wisconsin) 

  • Diabetes Interactive Atlases 

    The interactive atlases allow users to view data and trends for diagnosed diabetes (new and existing cases), obesity, and leisure-time physical inactivity at national, state, and county levels. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • Interactive Atlas of Heart Disease and Stroke 

    An online mapping tool that documents geographic disparities in cardiovascular diseases and their risk factors at the local level. The Atlas allows users to create county-level maps of heart disease and stroke and include overlays of congressional boundaries and health care facility locations. In addition, county-level maps of poverty rates, education levels, the food environment, access to health care, and other social factors are available. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • PeriStats 

    Provides access to to maternal and infant health-related data at the U.S., state, county, and city level. (March of Dimes) 

  • Profile-IQ 

    Online data query system for statistics on local health department (LHD) financing, workforce, and activities. The data is from NACCHO's National Profile of Local Health Departments (LHDs) Survey. (National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)) 

  • Quick Health Data Online 

    State and county level data available by gender, race and ethnicity. Categories include demographics, mortality, natality, reproductive health, violence, prevention, disease, and mental health. (Office on Women's Health, HHS (OWH)) 

  • SMART: BRFSS City and County Data 

    The Selected Metropolitan/Micropolitan Area Risk Trends (SMART) project uses the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) to analyze the data of selected metropolitan and micropolitan statistical areas (MMSAs) with 500 or more respondents. The data can be used to identify emerging health problems, establish and track health objectives, and develop and evaluate public health policies and programs. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC))

General Sites

State amd Country Quick Facts

State Health Facts (Kaiser Family Foundation)

California

  • California Health Interview Survey (CHIS) 

    Provides public health information for California's diverse population. Results on a variety of health topics are produced for the entire state and most counties. (UCLA Center for Health Policy Research) 

  • Kidsdata 

    Kidsdata.org, a program of the Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, promotes the health and well being of children in California by providing an easy to use resource that offers high-quality, wide-ranging, local data to those who work on behalf of children. Through kidsdata.org, the foundation aims to raise the visibility of key issues affecting California's children and make it easy for leaders and policymakers to use data in their work, whether that's assessing community needs, setting priorities, tracking progress, making program or policy decisions, preparing grant proposals and reports, or other work. Kidsdata.org allows users to easily find, customize, and use data on more than 500 measures of child health and well being. Data are available for every county, city, school district, and legislative district in California. (Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health USA) 

Florida

  • Florida CHARTS - Florida Public Health Statistics 

    Provides access to Florida's health data at the community and statewide level including access to over 2,000 health indicators, county and state profile reports, county and census tract level maps, and queriable data access. (Florida Department of Health) 

Georgia

  • OASIS (Online Analytical Statistical Information System) 

    Suite of tools used to access the Georgia Department of Public Health's standardized health data repository. Tools include interactive tables, maps, animated charts, and a Community Health Needs Assessment Dashboard. (Georgia Department of Public Health) 

Hawaii

  • Hawaii Health Data Warehouse 

    The Hawaii Health Data Warehouse collects and maintains Hawaii-specific health data from 6 major data sources: Vital Statistics, the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS), the Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS), the Youth Tobacco Survey (YTS), the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring Survey (PRAMS), and the Hawaii Health Survey (HHS). The sister site Hawaii Health Matters provides a Healthy People 2020 Tracker that monitors the progress of Hawaii toward a selection of the HP 2020 targets. Additionally, The Hawaii Health Data Warehouse offers Data Request Services free of charge. (Hawaii State Department of Health) 

Kansas

  • Kansas Health Matters 

    Kansas Health Matters is a one stop source of non-biased data and information about community health in Kansas. It is intended to help hospitals, health departments, policy makers, community planners and members learn about issues, identify improvements and collaborate for positive change. (Kansas Partnership for Improving Community Health) 

Maine

Maryland

  • Maryland State Health Improvement Process (SHIP) 

    This website contains information on the 40 measures in five focus areas (healthy beginnings, healthy living, healthy communities, access to health care, quality preventive care) that represent what it means for Maryland to be healthy. (Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene) 

Massachusetts

  • Our Healthy Massachusetts 

    Provides information on the health status of Massachusetts communities, as well as high-quality data to decision makers and communities. (Masschusetts Department of Public Health) 

Missouri

  • Missouri Data, Surveillance Systems & Statistical Reports 

    Access to Missouri health data and reports including Community Data Profiles, Missouri Information for Community Assessment, and Community Health Improvement Resources. (Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services) 

Nebraska

  • Network of Care for Public Health Assessment and Wellness 

    The Network of Care for Public Health Assessment and Wellness serves policy makers and residents in Nebraska by customizing population health data into more than 150 community Health Indicators at the county level. This resource provides information about community health services, laws, and communication tools. (Central District Health Department, Nebraska) 

New Hampshire

  • New Hampshire Health Data Inventory 

    Inventory of New Hampshire health data sources and reports. (New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, New Hampshire Institute for Health Policy and Practice) 

New York

  • EpiQuery: NYC Interactive Health Data 

    Health datasets on topics and indicators for different NYC populations. EpiQuery offers prevalence estimates with confidence intervals, rates over time, bar charts and neighborhood maps. (New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene)

    https://health.data.ny.gov/

    Health datasets on various medically related topics which pertain to NYS. 

  • NYS Kids' Well-being Indicators Clearinghouse 

    The Kids' Well-being Indicators Clearinghouse (KWIC) is a tool to gather, plot and monitor New York State children's health, education, and well-being indicator data in order to improve outcomes for children and families. (New York State Council on Children and Families) 

North Carolina

Ohio

Oklahoma

  • OK2Share (Oklahoma Statistics on Health Available for Everyone) 

    The OK2SHARE Service databases support the information needs of the Oklahoma State Department of Health and other users such as health officials, educators, and students in improving service delivery, evaluating health care systems, and monitoring the health of the people of Oklahoma. (Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH)) 

Pennsylvania

  • EpiQMS - Pennsylvania Epidemiologic Query and Mapping System 

    Interactive health statistics web site that can produce numbers, rates, graphs, charts, maps, and county profiles using various demographic variables (age, sex, race, etc.) from birth, death, cancer and population datasets for the state of PA and its counties. (Pennsylvania Department of Health) 

Texas

  • CHARTing Health Information for Texas 

    Provides a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available, localized or geographically-discrete health data, community characteristics data and sociodemographic data for the state of Texas. (University of Texas School of Public Health at Houston) 

Utah

Wisconsin

  • Eau Claire Healthy Communities 

    Provides health data for Eau Claire County, Wisconsin, and information about what is happening to improve the health of the community and other health information resources. (Trilogy Integrated Resources) 

  • AHRQ Data & Surveys 

    AHRQ provides access to a plethora of data and surveys on healthcare access, expenditures, quality, etc. (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)) 

  • America's Health Rankings 

    Provides a comprehensive perspective on national health issues, state by state. The rankings feature an interactive map to explore health statistics and compare states side-by-side. (United Health Foundation) 

  • Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) 

    State-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • CDC Data and Statistics 

    Provides access to CDC data and statistics including national surveys, surveillance resources, and vital records. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • CDC Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention: Data Trends & Maps 

    National repository of resources that document the public health burden of cardiovascular diseases and their risk factors at the national and state levels. Data for cardiovascular diseases, risk factors, and biomarkers can be displayed by age, race/ethnicity, and gender. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • CDC National Environmental Public Health Tracking Program 

    Environmental Public Health Tracking (EPHT) is the ongoing collection, integration, analysis, and interpretation of data about environmental hazards, exposure to environmental hazards, and human health effects potentially related to exposure to environmental hazards. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • CDC Sortable Stats 

    Interactive data set composed of 20 behavioral risk factors and health indicators, compiled from state-level data for all 50 states and Washington, D.C. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • CDC Wonder 

    Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research. Access statistical research data published by CDC; Public-use data sets about deaths, cancer incidence, HIV and AIDS, tuberculosis, vaccinations, births, census data and many other topics are available for query. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • Child Trends Data Bank 

    National trend data and research on over 100 key indicators of child and youth well-being. (Child Trends) 

  • Chronic Conditions Data Warehouse 

    This database provides researchers with Medicare and Medicaid beneficiary, claims, and assessment data linked by beneficiary across the continuum of care. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)) 

  • CMS Research, Statistics, Data & Systems 

    This site provides access to CMS computer data and systems; research studies and reports; statistics, series, and trends; and files for order. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)) 

  • Community Commons 

    An interactive mapping, networking, and learning utility for the broad-based healthy, sustainable, and livable communities movement. Users have access to all kinds of tools and information. One highlight is the searchable profiles of hundreds of place-based community initiatives (multi-sector collaboratives) working towards healthy/sustainable/livable/equitable communities

  • Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health 

    National and state-based data on over 100 indicators from the National Survey of Children's Health (NSCH) and the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN). (Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI)) 

  • Data.CDC.gov 

    Allows users to browse a sample of CDC's popular data sets and create visualizations of data to embed on websites that update automatically when data changes. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • DATA2010 

    Database system that contains monitoring data for tracking Healthy People 2010. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • DATA2020 

    Interactive data tool to allow users to explore data and technical information related to the Healthy People 2020 objectives. (Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) U.S.) 

  • Diabetes Interactive Atlases 

    The interactive atlases allow users to view data and trends for diagnosed diabetes (new and existing cases), obesity, and leisure-time physical inactivity at national, state, and county levels. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • Directory of HHS Data Resources

    Compilation of information about virtually all major data collection systems sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). (Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) U.S.) 

  • Disability and Health Data System (DHDS) 

    Data about disability, psychological distress, and disability-associated health care expenditures that can be used by state health departments, national disability and health organizations, policymakers, researchers, educators, and others. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • FastStats A-Z 

    The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Center for Health Statistics, CDC (NCHS)) 

  • Foodborne Outbreak Online Database (FOOD) 

    The FOOD tool is a web-based platform for searching CDC's Foodborne Disease Outbreak Surveillance System database. FOOD provides access to national information and is intended to be used for limited descriptive summaries of outbreak data. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • HCUPnet 

    On-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) that provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization. (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)) 

  • Health Data Interactive 

    Tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns. (National Center for Health Statistics, CDC (NCHS)) 

  • Health Indicators Warehouse (HIW) 

    The Health Indicators Warehouse serves as the data hub for the HHS Community Health Data Initiative by providing a single source for national, state, and community health indicators. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • Health Information National Trends Survey (HINTS) 

    Nationally representative telephone survey of the general population to evaluate how the general public accesses and uses information about cancer, and how this information can be delivered most effectively. (National Cancer Institute, NIH (NCI)) 

  • Health System Measurement Project 

    The Health System Measurement Project tracks government data on critical U.S. health system indicators. The website presents national trend data as well as detailed views broken out by population characteristics such as age, sex, income level, and insurance coverage status. (Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) U.S.) 

  • Health.Data.Gov 

    Health datasets, tools, and applications from agencies across the Federal government. (United States Government) 

  • Healthcare Cost & Utilization Project (HCUP)

    Family of healthcare databases and related software tools and products that provide national information and data on patient-level health care. (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)) 

  • HRSA Data Warehouse 

    Provides access to information about HRSA programs and related health resources including data on health professional shortage areas, medically underserved areas, and primary care service areas. (Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)) 

  • Integrated Health Interview Series 

    NHIS provides invaluable data on health behaviors, conditions, and care. With thousands of variables, large sample size, and sampling frame representative of the non-institutionalized civilian population, NHIS is also a potential tool for teaching statistics. (Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota US, National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, NIH (NICHD)) 

  • Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) 

    The Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS) is a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage. (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)) 

  • MEPSnet Query Tools 

    Provides easy access to Medical Expenditure Survey Panel statistics on health care use, expenditures, sources of payment, and insurance coverage. (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)) 

  • MIDAS Resources 

    Data sets and documents compiled by computational modelers of infectious disease. (Models of Infectious Disease Agent Study (MIDAS)) 

  • National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) 

    The Nation's principal health statistics agency that compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve public health. NCHS provides access to data, reports, surveys, and tools. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • National Health Care Surveys 

    The National Health Care Surveys are designed to answer key questions of interest to health care policy makers, public health professionals, and researchers. These can include the factors that influence the use of health care resources, the quality of health care, including safety, and disparities in health care services provided to population subgroups in the United States. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) 

    The National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) provides data on a broad range of health topics that are collected through personal household interviews. (National Center for Health Statistics, CDC (NCHS)) 

  • National Immunization Survey (NIS) 

    The National Immunization Survey (NIS) monitors childhood immunization coverage. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) Data and Statistics Gateway 

    The Gateway is a NIOSH Scientific Data Repository that provides centralized access to NIOSH public-use research datasets valuable for the public, industry, and the scientific community. The Gateway also provides convenient access to surveillance, statistics and other collections of NIOSH data focused on occupational safety and health. (National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, CDC (NIOSH)) 

  • National Survey of Children's Health 

    This survey examines the physical and emotional health of children ages 0-17 years of age. Special emphasis is placed on factors that may relate to the well-being of children, including medical homes, family interactions, parental health, school and after-school experiences, and safe neighborhoods. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • National Survey of Early Childhood Health 

    The survey provides national baseline data on pediatric care (and its impact) from the parent's perspective. Questions focus on the delivery of pediatric care to families with children under 3 years of age and the promotion of young children's health by families in their homes. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • National Survey of Family Growth 

    The National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG) gathers information on family life, marriage and divorce, pregnancy, infertility, use of contraception, and men's and women's health. (National Center for Health Statistics, CDC (NCHS)) 

  • NCHHSTP Atlas 

    Interactive platform for accessing HIV, Viral Hepatitis, sexually transmitted disease (STD), and tuberculosis (TB) data collected by CDC's National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHHSTP). (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • NCHS Data Online Query System 

    Currently in a beta version, this resource provides dynamically generated statistical tables, charts, and graphs using NCHS public use data. (National Center for Health Statistics, CDC (NCHS)) 

  • NHQRDRNet Online Query System 

    Online query system that allows you to access national and state data on the quality of, and access to, health care from scientifically credible measures and data sources. This is an interactive tool to explore data from the National Healthcare Quality & Disparities Reports. (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)) 

  • OpenFDA 

    Provides access to FDA public data and highlight projects using these data in both the public and private sector to further regulatory and scientific missions, educate the public, and save lives. (Food and Drug Administration (FDA)) 

  • PeriStats 

    Provides access to to maternal and infant health-related data at the U.S., state, county, and city level. (March of Dimes) 

  • Project Tycho Data 

    The Project Tycho database aims are to advance the availability and use of public health data for science and policy. The site provides open access to newly digitized U.S. weekly surveillance data for contagious diseases from 1888 to the present for use in research, education, and policy making. (University of Pittsburgh) 

  • School Health Policies and Practices Study (SHPPS) 

    The School Health Policies and Practices Study (SHPPS) is a national survey periodically conducted to assess school health policies and practices at the state, district, school, and classroom levels. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • SEER (Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results) 

    Cancer statistics in the United States. SEER collects information on incidence, survival, and prevalence from specific geographic areas representing 26 percent of the US population and compiles reports on all of these plus cancer mortality for the entire US. (National Cancer Institute, NIH (NCI)) 

  • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Statistics 

    National data on alcohol, tobacco, and illicit drug use. Also included are data on mental health topics including depression, serious psychological distress, and suicidal thoughts and attempts. (Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)) 

  • United States Cancer Statistics 

    Official federal statistics on cancer incidence from registries that have high-quality data and cancer mortality statistics for each year and for a combined five-year period. The site provides state-specific and regional data for cancer cases diagnosed and cancer deaths. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Cancer Institute, NIH (NCI), North American Association of Central Cancer Registries (NAACCR)) 

  • VitalStats 

    A collection of vital statistics products including tables, data files, and reports that allow users to access and examine vital statistics and population data interactively. (National Center for Health Statistics, CDC (NCHS)) 

  • WebMIRS 

    Provides access to National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES) data and related x-ray images. Users need to register and install free Java software to use WebMIRS. (National Library of Medicine (NLM) U.S.) 

  • Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) 

    The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors health-risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults, including behaviors that contribute to unintentional injuries and violence, tobacco use, alcohol and other drug use, unhealthy dietary behaviors, and physical activity. (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)) 

  • Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) 

    The Demographic and Health Surveys program collects, analyzes and disseminates accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 200 surveys in over 75 countries. (MEASURE DHS) 

  • European Health For All Database (HFA-DB) 

    Contains data on about 600 health indicators for Member States of the WHO European Region, including basic demographic and socioeconomic indicators; lifestyle- and environment-related indicators; mortality, morbidity and disability; hospital discharges; and health care resources, utilization and expenditure. The database is a helpful tool for international comparison and for assessing the health situation and trends in any European country in an international context. (World Health Organization (WHO)) 

  • Global Health and Human Rights Database 

    International database of judgments, instruments, and constitutions involving health and human rights from around the world. (Georgetown University) 

  • Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) 

    Catalog for demographic, public health and global health data. Use the GHDx to research population census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial data related to health. (Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME), University of Washington) 

  • Global Health Facts 

    Global data on HIV/AIDS, malaria, TB and other key health and socio-economic indicators. The data are displayed in tables, charts, and color-coded maps and can be downloaded for custom analyses. (Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF)) 

  • Global Health Observatory (GHO) 

    WHO's gateway to health-related statistics from around the world. GHO covers global health priorities such as the health-related Millennium Development Goals, women and health, mortality and burden of disease, disease outbreaks, health equity, and health systems. (World Health Organization (WHO)) 

  • Health, Nutrition and Population Data and Statistics 

    This database contains international statistics for 250 indicators dealing with areas such as: health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, malaria and tuberculosis, health workforce and health facilities use, nutrition, reproductive health, population and population projections, cause of death, non-communicable diseases, water and sanitation, with background information on poverty, labor force, economy and education. (World Bank) 

  • PAHO Health Data 

    Health data and statistics for countries of the Americas. (Pan American Health Organization (PAHO))

  • The World Factbook 

    Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. (Central Intelligence Agency (CIA))