Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nutrition and Dietetics

PubMed vs. Medline

It's important to understand the difference between Medline and PubMed.  Medline is part of PubMed; when you search PubMed you are searching all of Medline, but if you only search Medline you will miss some material that is only in PubMed.

Comparing PubMed and Medline

For a truly thorough literature search you must search PubMed, not just Medline.  PubMed includes very new in-process articles that haven't yet been fully indexed for Medline, and other publications that do not meet the inclusion criteria for Medline.  Be aware that by building a search in the MeSH database you are by default only searching Medline, because only articles indexed for Medline have MeSH terms assigned to them.

For more details on the differences between PubMed and Medline, see here.

Tutorials by NNLM / PubMed

It is your choice whether you use PubMed or EBSCO to search for articles in MEDLINE.  If you choose PubMed, be sure to educate yourself about how the database functions!

 PubMed Help

PubMed Tutorials Page

This page has links to web-based tutorials, animated video tutorials, and webcasts on many aspects of using PubMed.

 

Recommended Video Tutorials from the above page are:

Searching PubMed

PubMed's MeSH Database

Saving Searches (My NCBI)  

Overview of Pubmed searching

Finding the full text of articles in PubMed

Now that you know how to search for articles in PubMed, you need to be able to access the full text.  Remember to always access PubMed through the Pace library homepage so you will have access to all Pace resources.

Advanced Searching in CINAHL

CINAHL is another important database for health sciences. CINAHL stands for the Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature. CINAHL, like MEDLINE, is an indexed database. That means that the database uses a list of specific vocabulary called CINAHL subject headings to describe the concepts in an article. CINAHL subject headings are based on MesH but some may differ. Using CINAHL subject headings to build a search is the same basic concept as building a search using MeSH terms, but the mechanics of building the search are different.
This video shows how to build a search using CINAHL subject headings and save your search. Note you need to create a free My EbscoHost account to save searches in CINAHL. This account also works for other Ebsco databases such as PsycInfo.
Important notes: This video suggests using the Full text limit. I do not recommend using the full text limit because you may be leaving out the most relevant articles, and you can request them easily using InterLibrary Loan.
 
 
CINAHL also has other advanced search features similar to PubMed. This video reviews how to use limits (same as PubMed filters) and build a Boolean search using the search history in CINAHL.
The video also mentions looking for Evidence-based Care Sheets. Pace does not subscribe to this feature.