Skip to main content

Welcome!

 Welcome to the Film Criticism LibGuide!

 Use the tabs above to navigate through the Guide.

Please submit any comments or questions to Sarah Burns Feyl using the Profile Box on the right.

Filmsite

Filmsite
http://www.filmsite.org
This site from American Movie Classics bills itself as an "unique resource for classic film buffs and all who are interested in films. Includes interpretive and detailed plot synopses, review commentary, an unparalleled wealth of film reference material, and historical background for hundreds of classic Hollywood/American and other English-language films in the last century."

Hard to Find Films

New York Public Library - Reserve Film and Video Collection
40 Lincoln Center Plaza, New York, N.Y. 10023-7498, Phone: (212) 870-1630

http://www.nypl.org/locations/lpa/reserve-film-and-video-collection
From the web site: "One of the largest of its kind in the nation - contains important film and video collections, as well as extensive audio holdings. Our outstanding collection includes: 3,000 popular home videos 2,200 videotapes ranging from video art to independently produced documentaries and exemplary television programs; 8,500 16mm films, including independent experimental films, documentaries; and over 250 feature films ranging from classics to current releases."

LEO
http://leopac.nypl.org/
Search the holdings of the Reserve Film and Video Collection (and other NYPL locations) using LEO, the Library's online catalog - click on "Expanded Search" in order to limit holdings to media formats such as 16 mm, VHS and DVD.

Scripts

Motion Picture Division Film Script Index 1927-1965
http://www.archives.nysed.gov/research/res_topics_film
"The New York State Archives preserves the largest collection of film scripts in the world." Search their holdings, then print out and mail in your request form - give yourself enough time, as these resources are NOT available online, and also are NOT free. Archives staff will locate the file, determine cost for photocopying filmscript(s), and mail out the invoice for cost of photocopies. All customers must pay in advance.

Citing Your Sources

Most film classes use MLA Style for their bibliography, or list of works cited. The MLA Handbook is available in the Library, and help with MLA Style is available in the Purdue Online Writing Lab as well.