Genre Analysis Assignment
For the Genre Analysis, you are asked to select a topic that interests you, collect three examples of the op-ed genre on this topic, and be sure to select editorials from three different publications.
in the boxes below, you will find direct links to sources which are easy to browse.
Since some of the sources require a subscription, the second link (if needed) will provide you access to additional articles through the Pace Library databases.
At the bottom of the page is a video explaining how to search the publication pages.
Education Publications
-
The Chronicle of Higher EducationThe Pace community should logon to the Chronicle website using their Pace email address in order to access articles.
The Chronicle of Higher Education is an American newspaper and website that presents news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty and student affairs professionals, including staff members and administrators. (Wikipedia) -
The Chronicle @ Pace LibrariesAccess articles for free through the Pace Library databases.
-
Inside Higher EdInside Higher Ed is a media company and online publication that provides news, opinion, resources, events and jobs focused on college and university topics. (Wikipedia)
-
The Hechinger ReportCovers inequality and innovation in education with in-depth journalism that uses research, data and stories from classrooms and campuses to show the public how education can be improved and why it matters.
-
Times Higher Education (UK)Times Higher Education, formerly The Times Higher Education Supplement, is a British magazine reporting specifically on news and issues related to higher education. (Wikipedia)
-
Times Higher Education @ Pace LibrariesAccess articles for free through the Pace Library databases. NOTE: We may not have access to every article available on the New Yorker website.
-
EdutopiaWe connect a community of stakeholders committed to improving education, showing them how to adopt or adapt best practices, and enabling them to share stories of innovation and continuous learning in the real world.
Student Publications
-
Pace ChronicleWritten and edited by the students of Pace University, The Pace Chronicle runs news stories, profiles, sports, entertainment, opinion, and investigative pieces.
-
Harvard CrimsonThe Harvard Crimson, the nation's oldest continuously published daily college newspaper, was founded in 1873 and incorporated in 1967.
-
Mount Holy Oke NewsMount Holyoke News is an independent student newspaper since 1917, written by and for Mount Holyoke College students.
-
Purchase College ExposeExpose biannually shares a selection of noteworthy personal and critical essays that are created by students in College and Expository Writing courses at Purchase College.
-
Yale Daily NewsThe Yale Daily News is the nation’s oldest college daily newspaper and has been financially and editorially independent since its founding on January 28, 1878.
-
Williams RecordThe Williams Record is the student-run newspaper of record at Williams College.
-
The Daily CalifornianThe Daily Californian is an independent, student-run newspaper published by the Independent Berkeley Students Publishing Company, Inc.
-
InterpolationsInterpolations is a journal of academic writing from the University of Maryland.
Literary Magazines
-
The FenceFence is an American print and online literary publication containing both original work and critical and journalistic coverage of what may be largely termed "experimental" or "avant garde" material. (Wikipedia)
-
The Tin HousePublisher of award-winning books of literary fiction, nonfiction, and poetry; home to a renowned workshop and seminar series.
-
Kenyon ReviewThe Kenyon Review is a literary magazine based in Gambier, Ohio, home of Kenyon College. (Wikipedia)
-
Creative Nonfiction FoundationThe Creative Nonfiction Foundation inspires and supports writers of true stories by providing publishing venues and educational opportunities for a diverse range of creative nonfiction writing and writers
Traditional Media
-
The AtlanticThe Atlantic is an American lifestyle magazine and multi-platform publisher. It was founded in 1857 in Boston, Massachusetts, as The Atlantic Monthly, a literary and cultural commentary magazine that published leading writers' commentary on the abolition of slavery, education, and other major issues in contemporary political affairs. (Wikipedia)
-
The Atlantic @ Pace LibrariesAccess articles for free through the Pace Library databases. NOTE: we currently only have access to the Atlantic from January 1, 1977 - February 1, 1995. For more recent articles you will need to subscribe to the Atlantic through their website.
-
Mother JonesMother Jones is a nonprofit American progressive[1][2] magazine that focuses on news, commentary, and investigative journalism on topics including politics, environment, human rights, health and culture. (Wikipedia)
-
The NationThe Nation is a progressive American biweekly magazine that covers political and cultural news, opinion, and analysis. (Wikipedia)
-
National ReviewNational Review is an American semi-monthly editorial magazine focusing on news and commentary pieces on political, social, and cultural affairs. (Wikipedia)
-
National Review @ Pace LibrariesAccess articles for free through the Pace Library databases. NOTE: We may not have access to every article available on the National Review website.
-
New RepublicThe New Republic is an American magazine of commentary on politics, contemporary culture, and the arts, published since 1914, with an outsized influence on American political and cultural thinking. (Wikipedia)
-
New Republic @ Pace LibrariesAccess paid articles through the Pace Library databases. NOTE: We may not have access to every article available on the New Republic website.
-
The New YorkerThe New Yorker is an American weekly magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry. Started as a weekly in 1925, the magazine is now published 47 times annually, with five of these issues covering two-week spans. (Wikipedia)
-
The New Yorker @ Pace LibrariesAccess articles for free through the Pace Library databases. NOTE: We may not have access to every article available on the New Yorker website.
-
NPRNational Public Radio is an American privately and publicly funded non-profit media organization based in Washington, D.C. NPR differs from other non-profit membership media organizations, such as AP, in that it was established by an act of Congress and most of its member stations are owned by government entities. (Wikipedia)
-
NY TimesPace students, faculty, and staff can get free NY Times accounts by signing up with their credentials - https://asklibrary.pace.edu/faq/361185
-
The Onion (Satire)The Onion is an American digital media company and newspaper organization that publishes satirical articles on international, national, and local news.
-
PoliticoPolitico, known originally as The Politico, is an American political journalism company based in Arlington County, Virginia, that covers politics and policy in the United States and internationally. (Wikipedia)
-
Teen VogueTeen Vogue is an American progressive online publication, formerly in print, launched in January 2003, as a sister publication to Vogue, targeted at teenage girls and young women. The magazine has expanded its focus from fashion and beauty to include politics and current affairs. (Wikipedia)
-
Time @ Pace LibrariesAccess paid articles through the Pace Library databases. NOTE: We may not have access to every article available on the TIME magazine website.
-
Time MagazineTime is an American weekly news magazine and news website published and based in New York City. (Wikipedia)
-
Wall Street JournalThe Wall Street Journal is an American newspaper based in New York City. The newspaper provides extensive coverage of news, especially business and finance. (Wikipedia)
-
Wall Street Journal @ Pace LibariesAccess articles for free through the Pace Library databases. NOTE: We may not have access to every article available on the WSJ website.
-
Washington PostThe Washington Post is regarded as one of the leading daily American newspapers. The Post has distinguished itself through its political reporting on the workings of the White House, Congress, and other aspects of the U.S. government. It is considered a newspaper of record in the U.S. (Wikipedia)
-
Washington Post @ Pace LibrariesAccess articles for free through the Pace Library databases. NOTE: We may not have access to every article available on the Washington Post website.
Library Databases To Try
Two great places to start searching for editorials, opinion pieces and "viewpoint essays" are the Opposing Viewpoints database and the US Major Dailies database, both available here:
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowViewpoint essays, articles, statistics, and more giving the pro and con sides on topical social and political issues.
Years covered: 18th Century-present -
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess to major U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.Content is available by 8am each day and provides archives from 1985. Coverage: 1980 - current
Searching for Articles
Starting at 33 seconds, this video will explain how to search for specific articles in publications using the Pace databases. (Most relevant information ends around 6 minutes).