Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENG 201: Research in the Disciplines fall 2022

Major Tabs on the Library Website

Use the Quick Search to do something like Google the library. You’ll find a bit of everything (book titles, film titles, journal and magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, etc.) Tip:  Use the filters to narrow your results to only articles or only books, etc. The filters work exactly like filters online when you are shopping, helpful but not perfect. The Subject filters are not useful here.

Use Books & Media when you are searching for a particular book, perhaps from the bibliography at the end of your syllabus, from a Wikipedia entry, or from the References in an article or in another book. The library offers thousands of e-books and print books. To expand your book results, click on the Held by My Library button and check the box for Libraries Worldwide. From those results, you can request a book through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

 

Use Journal Title when you have the citation to an article but still need to find the article itself (full text). This tool tells you if any of the subscription databases have a particular journal full text and the years of coverage. You’ll be taken directly to an ILL link if the journal isn’t available via Pace. This tool ALSO allows you to browse journals in a particular discipline or profession. look to the right and click on Journals by Discipline under Related Links.

 

Use the Databases to search for scholarly journal or magazine articles. Start by selecting a database from the A-Z title list (see next page for recommendations) or by Subject. If you need peer-reviewed articles, you can limit your search results to peer-reviewed articles.Always choose the Advanced Search screen if it isn’t already open.

Use the Interlibrary Loan service when you know that an article or book exists but now you need the full-text article or the actual book and can’t find it at the Pace Library. This happens when searching some of the databases. Email me anytime for help: sthomas7@pace.edu

Click here to acceess the Pace Libraries Website