Skip to Main Content

ENG 201: Research in the Disciplines spring 2024 Griffiths

Research resources for ENG 201 Honors with Professor Griffiths

Major Tabs on the Library Website

Use the Quick Search to do something like Google the library. You’ll find a bit of everything (book titles, film titles, journal and magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, etc.) Tip: Use the filters at the top of the search-results page to narrow your results by source type, peer-reviewed, date, etc. Keep in mind that not every library resource is available in Quick Search, so we never recommend ONLY this search.

Use Books & Media when you are searching for books or films. You can search by keyword, title, author, and subject. To expand your book results, click on the Held by My Library button and check the box for Libraries Worldwide. From those results, you can request a print book through InterLibrary Loan (ILL) or a digital copy of a book chapter. (ILL does not allow entire e-books.)

Use Journal Title tab when you have the citation to an article but still need to find the article itself (full text). You will find out if any of the library's subscription databases have a particular journal full text as well as the years of coverage. This tool provides links to the article in another database. You’ll be taken directly to an ILL link if the journal isn’t available via Pace. This tool ALSO allows you to browse journals in a particular discipline or profession.

Use the Databases to search for scholarly journal or magazine articles as well as some e-book and video databases. This is a very popular tab. Start by selecting a database from the A-Z title list (see next page for recommendations) or by Subject. If you need peer-reviewed articles, you can limit your search results to peer-reviewed articles. Always choose the Advanced Search screen if it isn’t already open.

Use the Interlibrary Loan service when you know that an article or book exists but you can’t find it at the Pace Library. This happens when searching some of the databases. Email me anytime for help: sthomas7@pace.edu

Click here to acceess the Pace Libraries Website