Library: Researching a Historiography: Find Journal Articles &amp; Essays

Finding Articles

The information below will provide assistance to locating scholarly articles:

Pace Library Databases: Each database below includes some environmental science information and provides access to a unique group of publications, so search more than one in order to be comprehensive.
Inter-Library Loan: There may be articles in the Pace Databases for which we don't have full text access but can be requested through inter-library loan.
Searching the Databases: Use the tutorial videos from our librarians to learn how to effectively search our resources.

History Databases (including primary source databases)

American Memory Project This link opens in a new window
Original materials from the Library of Congress including photographs, sound recordings, film clips, maps and more that illuminate 500 years of American history.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Find articles on the history and culture of North America, including the U.S. and Canada. This database covers thousands of years of history on the continent from prehistoric times to the present.
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience This link opens in a new window
Overviews, maps, and primary source documents about 13 defining migrations. 1450-present.
Making of America, Part 1 (Cornell University) This link opens in a new window
Primary sources in U.S. social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
Making of America, Part 2 (University of Michigan) This link opens in a new window
Primary sources in U.S. social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
Nineteenth Century US Newspapers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Newspapers are captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

General Research Databases

Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Database of open-access journals and their articles. From 1990 to present, some archive content from 1892.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Citations or full-page images of back issues of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources covering a wide range of topics.
Years covered: 1860s-present
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Years covered: 1847-present. Note: We subscribe to full-text for 1999-present on select titles only.

Requesting Full Text Articles

What if you find an article and only the "Search for Item" icon is shown?

When you find an article listed in a research database, and there is not PDF or HTML immediately available, use the "Search for Item" icon.

This will search all of Pace's holdings (print and electronic) to see if we have full text. If you get a message that says, "Sorry, no full text available," click the link that says "ILLiad New York and Pleasantville" to request a copy of the article. You need to register for the ILLiad service in order to place a request.

Electronic PDFs of the full text take an average of 2 business days to arrive. You will be emailed a link back to the ILLiad form, and select "View/Download Electronically Received Articles" to get a link to the PDF.

ILLiad: Interlibrary Loan
The ILLiad service allows users to request and track items not owned by the Pace University Library. Logon the first time using your Pace username and password, then complete the Registration Form.

Searching Pace Databases

Pace Library Tutorial Videos
If you'd like additional videos on searching Pace library resources, visit the Library Tutorial Video page.

ACADEMICS AT PACE

LIFE ON CAMPUS

CAREER PREPARATION

ADMISSION & AID

Researching a Historiography

Finding Articles

History Databases (including primary source databases)

General Research Databases

Requesting Full Text Articles

Searching Pace Databases