What is a database?
A database is a collection of information that is organized so that it can be easily accessed. Databases typically allow you to search across a multitude of resources: everything from newspaper and magazine articles, to more subject specific scholarly journal articles and peer reviewed materials.
Through Pace Libraries, you have access to approximately 200 databases that cover a wide range of topics.
Not sure where you need to look? You can explore all of our databases organized by Subject to get a better sense of what's available to you.
The Library subscribes to over 200 hundred databases.
To browse and search databases organized by subject,
- Select "Databases" from the library homepage
- Select a subject from the drop down menu:
- Once you choose a subject, you can browse the list of relevant databases.
Using academic databases can be tricky, particularly for new users.
Included below are some helpful video tutorials created by Pace Librarians to provide a more in-depth look at using databases for searches.
Relevant Databases
Included below are some of the general databases accessible to Pace students.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
- Credo Reference Academic Core This link opens in a new windowThis is a collection of reference ebooks on a variety of topics. A good starting resource for research sources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCitations or full-page images of back issues of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources covering a wide range of topics.
Years covered: 1860s-present - Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowViewpoint essays, articles, statistics, and more giving the pro and con sides on topical social and political issues.
Years covered: 18th Century-present