Recommended Databases for Most Research Topics
Ebook Central (E) A huge collection of e-books from academic and popular publishers. I recommend seeking books published by university presses such as MIT Press, Chicago University Press, or University of California Press. Log in off campus with your Pace credentials. Tools include read online, download chapters, print chapters, and more.
JSTOR (J). A massive academic article AND book chapter (from mostly university press books) database with a lot of philosophy. Some of the most recently published articles may not be available in full text here, but you may request them through Pace's InterLibrary Loan service. JSTOR is great for historical material. This database does not have great search filters and tools compared to other databases, however.
Academic Search Ultimate (A) A partly full-text article and indexing database that covers all academic disciplines. Academic or scholarly journal articles, plus magazine and newspaper articles are here. Click “Search for Item” if you don’t see a PDF or HTML link in an article.
Academic OneFile (A) Gale Academic OneFile provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.Good idea to search both this database and Academic Search Utimate when looking for a wide variety of source types across many subjects.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): "DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community. It is committed to ensuring quality content is openly available online for everyone."
NOTE: Pace subscribes to MANY other databases, as well. View them by SUBJECT drowpdown menu and see if one might be good for your topic(s), for example, Health Sciencees, Queer/LGBTQA Studies, Sociology, Art, or Psychology.