COM 242: New Communication Technologies & Moral Panic

Topic:

• Old Technology: Telephone (Late 1800’s – Early 1900’s)
• New Technology: Artificial Intelligence (Early 2000’s – Today)

Strategies:

• Determine timeframes (above)
• Search newspaper databases for old & new newspaper articles
• Search for other primary sources
  • Government sources, speeches, discussion boards (Reddit, etc.)
• Search secondary sources using keywords (example to the right)
• Use main keywords, source types and the time limit functions in the databases (Below) 

In many databases, you can check a box to limit to full-text results. 

In some cases, you may see the  icon. If you find an article in a research database, such as the ones on this LibGuide, and the article is not immediately available to read with a PDF or HTML link, click the "Search for Item" icon.

You may see a link to a database that has the article in full-text, or you may be prompted to use the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service to request a copy of the article. Articles through ILL can take anywhere from one day to 2-3 weeks to obtain. 

A valuable form of primary and secondary sources may be government sources. One way to strategically find governmental sources is by using the site: search tool on Google. 

When you find an article listed in a database, and the article is not immediately available to read, use the Search for Item button to search Pace's periodical holdings. If you get a message that directs you to use the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service to request a copy of the article, follow the link.

• Articles (pdf files/photocopies) can take anywhere from 24 hours to a few days to obtain.
• Books, conference proceedings and other documents are also available for request and can be picked up at your home campus Library.