Searchable PDF version of the Brooklyn Eagle newspaper, from its founding to its final issue. Read everything from editorials by Walt Whitman to accounts of Brooklyn Dodgers games.
Years covered: 1841-1955
Communications and Mass Media Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
Citations or full-page images of back issues of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources spanning a wide range of academic disciplines. The entire backfile of each journal (from volume 1, issue 1) is always included, along with the most recent issues of select academic journals.
Years covered: 1860s-present
An open-access digital library of primary sources in American social history covering the second half of the 19th Century. **Journals of interest include Harper's New Monthly Magazine and Scientific American**
Years covered: 1830-1901
A collection of freely available primary source material from 30 libraries, archives, and museums. The portal provides innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, format, subject, and partner.
A gateway to digitized documents, photographs, sound recordings, film clips, books, pamphlets, maps, sheet music, and other resources that illustrate and illuminate American history and culture.
Years covered: 1500s-present
From the special collections of the New York Public Library, this database offers online access to thousands of digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly in the public domain.
Years covered: primarily pre-1923.