Library: Biology: Find Articles

Interlibrary Loan

When you find an article listed in a database, and the article is not immediately available to read, use the Search for Item button to search Pace's periodical holdings. If you get a message that directs you to use the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service to request a copy of the article, follow the link.

Articles (pdf files/photocopies) can take anywhere from 24 hours to a few days to obtain.
Books, conference proceedings and other documents are also available for request and can be picked up at your home campus Library.

ILLiad Interlibrary Loan
The ILLiad service allows users to request and track items not owned by the Pace University Library. Logon the first time using your Pace username and password, then complete the Registration Form.

Google Scholar

When you use Google Scholar for the first time, be sure to go to Preferences and set your Library to "Pace University Library." This will enable active links to full-text articles when Pace Library can provide that access.

Search the Journal Literature

Each database provides access to a unique group of publications, so search more than one in order to be comprehensive.

Biological Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals starting with Volume 1, up through 3 – 5 years ago, depending on the publication. One area of interest: Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, which contains six journals.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 3,430 scholarly publications. This is a good starting place to find out the kind of information available on popular topics (such as cloning) in biology. The articles found here will not be highly technical in nature, but will provide some of the basic issues or arguments surrounding certain research.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of neurophysiology and behavior. Provides citations, abstracts, and some linked full text when available.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Use the link from the Library list of databases, then you will get the "Search for Article" link which will streamline your ability to request articles via ILLiad Interlibrary Loan.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
Information about articles and journals related to agriculture from the National Agricultural Library.

Free Medical Journals Online
A list of over 990 free online bio-medical journals with information about their citation index rankings. Recommended by Science magazine.
Science.gov
Search engine that focuses on articles, data sets, and images found in databases from government agencies. Some of these agencies include the National Aeronautic and Space Administration (NASA), the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), and the National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII).

Journal Title Search - Ebsco

You can browse journal and periodical holdings using the Subject Lists, or use the widget below to search for a particular publication title.

Subject Guide

Kristina Bilello

Email Me

Tech Tools

Need help managing your references? Check out these resources:

Endnote: A citation management tool available through Pace's ADAM.
- See our guide for Endnote here.
- Having trouble with the Mac version of Endnote? Contact Samuel Kim.
Mendley: A free citation management tool created by Elsevier. You can download it here.
Zotero: A free open-source citation management tool. You can download it here.
- See our guide for Zotero here.

Having trouble with any of these? Contact a research librarian!

ACADEMICS AT PACE

LIFE ON CAMPUS

CAREER PREPARATION

ADMISSION & AID

Biology