It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"The Europa World Year Book was first published in 1926. Since 1960 it has appeared in annual two-volume editions and has become established as an authoritative reference work, providing a wealth of detailed information on the political, economic and commercial institutions of the world. ... The International Organizations section gives extensive coverage to the United Nations and its related agencies and bodies. There are also detailed articles concerning other major international and regional organizations; entries for many affiliated organizations appear within these articles.
This book is a clearly presented guide to world politics. It is unique in combining a comparative analysis of world political systems and ideologies with descriptions of the systems of government in each of the world's 192 sovereign nations.
World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties, Fourth Edition provides the most comprehensive coverage available on the governments and political parties of the world's nations. Each country is described in terms of its system and organization of government, as well as the processes through which political parties or interests bring their influence to bear on government.
Foreign Affairs Websites
Political science includes studying foreign relations and the ways governments coordinate with one another. Below are reliable websites and lists of resources to start research on foreign affairs topics.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.