Library: NURS 813: Advanced Nursing in Primary Health Care: Government Levels & Agencies

On this page, you will find:

Federal Government Sites
State Government Sites
NYC Government Sites
Federal & State Health Agencies
International Health Sites

A good place to start might be GovTrack which aggregates legislation into one simple search!

GovTrack
GovTrack is an independent website that tracks legislation in Congress. Includes tools to track representatives and provides an in-house rating system for political leaning of each representative.
The National Conference of State Legislatures: State Public Health Legislation Database
NCSL was created by state legislators and legislative staff in 1975 and serves America’s 50 states, commonwealths, territories and the District of Columbia. Every state legislator and staffer is a member of the organization and has complete access to the latest in bipartisan policy research.
more...less...
This database covers topics related to public health including infectious disease prevention and treatment, public health reporting and workforce and vaccines. It includes all introduced legislation from 2021 to the present and is updated at least twice per month as legislation is identified by NCSL staff.

Federal Government

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
Congress.gov
This site from the Library of Congress allows you to search for current legislation, committee records, representatives, treaty documents and more.
Supreme Court of the United States
U.S. House of Representatives
Locate actual bills that are proposed, debated, and passed from the US House of Representatives.
U.S. Senate
Locate actual bills that are proposed, debated, and passed from the US Senate.
The White House (official site)

State Government (Tri-State Area)

New York Office of the Governor
New York State Agencies
List of all New York agencies.
New York State Assembly
Will contain similar information to that of NYS Senate.
New York State Senate
Will contain similar information to that of NYS Assembly.
Official Website of New York State

New Jersey Agencies
List of New Jersey agencies.
New Jersey Legislature
New Jersey Office of the Governor
Official Website of the state of New Jersey

Connecticut General Assembly
Connecticut Office of the Governor
Connecticut State Departments and Agencies
List of Connecticut departments and agencies
Official Website of the state of Connecticut

New York City Government

New York City Council
New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
NYC.gov
Official website of the city of New York.
Office of the Mayor

Institute of Medicine
We marshal knowledge and expertise across disciplines to study complex and sometimes contentious issues, reach consensus based on the evidence, and identify the best path forward.
National Institutes of Medicine
NIH is the largest source of funding for medical research in the world, creating hundreds of thousands of high-quality jobs.
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
The mission of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is to enhance the health and well-being of all Americans, by providing for effective health and human services and by fostering sound, sustained advances in the sciences underlying medicine, public health, and social services.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC is the nation's leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public's health. CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S.
National Libraries of Medicine
Accelerating Biomedical Discovery and Data-Powered Health through PubMed, MedLine, Clinical Trials, etc.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Alerting you to the latest recalls of potentially unsafe FDA-regulated products gathered from press releases and other public notices.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The purpose of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality is to enhance the quality, appropriateness, and effectiveness of health services, and access to such services through the establishment of a broad base of scientific research and through the promotion of improvements in clinical and health system practices, including the prevention of diseases and other health conditions.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce is a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet.
Congressional Budget Office: Health Care Spending
The CBO provides nonpartisan analysis of the federal budget for the U.S. Congress, and they include analysis of health care spending.

International Health sites

European Commission Public Health
Kaiser Family Foundation Global Health Facts
World Bank Health Data
USAID Demographic and Health Surveys
The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries.
Health Map: Global Disease Alert Map
Brings together several data sources on current global state of infectious diseases and their effect on human and animal health. Data is aggregated by disease and displayed by location on global and regional maps.
Data Visualization - Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
Data freely and easily accessible and to provide innovate ways to visualize complex global topics.
GlobalHealth.gov
Global health data from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
OECD.StatExtracts
The "Health" link on the left provides 2001-2010 data on worldwide health expenditures, healthcare activities (e.g., vaccinations), and more, for OECD countries.