Library: Public Health, Primary Health Care and Epidemiology: U.S. National Statistics

U.S. National Statistics

Census Data
This is the portal to access data from the U.S Census and American Community Survey. Note that if you scroll down under "Data Profiles" there is a profile for New York City.
US Census Bureau Homepage
This site gives information about the census and some access to data. Includes infographics. Refer to Census data for raw data.

AARP Data Center
The AARP Public Policy Institute analyzes and publishes a wide range of state-specific data related to Americans over 50. (AARP)
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Criminal justice statistics including statistics on crime, criminal offenders, and victims of crime. (Department of Justice (DoJ) USA)
Children of Immigrants Data Tool
Interactive tool designed to generate charts and tables with indicators on children, age 0 to 17, for the United States and for the 50 states and the District of Columbia using data from the American Community Survey. (Urban Institute (UI))
Demographics and Social Statistics
Demographic and social statistics gathered from national and international sources. (United Nations)
Diversitydatakids.org
Diversitydata.org allows visitors to explore how metropolitan areas throughout the U.S. perform on a diverse range of social measures that comprise a well-rounded life experience. The site provides access to socioeconomic indicators for metropolitan areas in the form of tables, thematic maps, and customizable reports. (Center for Advancing Health USA, Harvard School of Public Health)
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)
Population databases that include IPUMS - USA, data on people in the U.S. census and American Community Survey; IPUMS-CPS, data on people in the Current Population Survey; the North American Population Project (NAPP); the National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS); and the Integrated Health Interview Survey (IHIS), an integrated version of the U.S. National Health Interview Survey. (Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota US)
KIDS COUNT Data Center
Provides access to hundreds of measures of child well-being to track the educational, social, economic, and physical well-being of children state by state. (Annie E. Casey Foundation)
Minority Population Profiles by the Office of Minority Health
Provides profiles on minority populations that include demographics, education, and health disparities. Profiles are split into distinct minority groups.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. (Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education (IES))
Social Security Research, Statistics, & Policy Analysis
Information from The Office of Retirement and Disability Policy on policy and statistical data. (Social Security Administration (SSA))

CDC Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
This CDC site lists state-by-state health surveys that collect information about health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access, primarily related to chronic disease and injury.
CDC Data Center
Also see the CDC's VitalSigns for data tables on births and deaths in the U.S. population. Use the A-Z index at the top of the page to find information on specific topics. The CDC focus not only on communicable diseases but accidents and safety as well.
CDC Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
CDC's main means of scientific publishing including public health information and recommendations.
CDC National Center for Health Statistics
Part of the CDC, this center is America's principal health statistics agency.
CDC VitalSigns
CDC reports covering various health threats.
CDC Wonder
CDC Wonder is an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.
more...less...
With CDC WONDER you can:

Access statistical research data published by CDC, as well as reference materials, reports and guidelines on health-related topics;
Query numeric data sets on CDC's computers, via "fill-in-the blank" web pages. Public-use data sets about mortality (deaths), cancer incidence, HIV and AIDS, tuberculosis, vaccinations, natality (births), census data and many other topics are available for query, and the requested data are readily summarized and analyzed, with dynamically calculated statistics, charts and maps.
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
Survey data produced by the National Center for Health Statistics that focus of diet-related statistics.
more...less...
Note: There is a time-delay between when the data is gathered and when it is organized for viewing.

Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)
As 1 of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), this agency works to improve the quality, safety, and cost-effectiveness of health care throughout the U.S. It conducts and supports health services research in academic institutions, hospitals, health care systems, and many other settings.
US Bureau of Labor Statistics
Data.gov
Provides access to datasets generated by the Federal Government and includes descriptions of the datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. (United States Government)
Department of Health and Human Services
The Department of Health and Human Services priorities include: Health Insurance Marketplace
Affordable Care Act; Mental Health; Stop Bullying; Be Tobacco Free; Food Safety; Getting Vaccinated; Flu Prevention; Raise Healthier Kids; Open Government at HHS; Stop Medicare Fraud; HHS Digital Strategy; Supporting Military Families; Fighting HIV/AIDS
Healthy People 2030
Data tool for accessing goals of Healthy People 2030.
Healthy People 2020
Data tool for accessing goals of Healthy People 2020.
Healthy People 2010
Data tool for accessing goals of Healthy People 2010.
USA.gov Data and Statistics
Hub to various federal data and statistics organized by department/bureau.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration (SAMHSA)
Federal government agency for behavioral health data and research.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
Federal agency focused on research into mental disorders.

Related Guides

Public Health Nursing Assessment Tool - Additional Resources
by Jessica Kiebler Last Updated May 31, 2023 578 views this year
Nursing Research
by Jessica Kiebler Last Updated Sep 16, 2024 1511 views this year
Psychology Research
by Susan Thomas Last Updated Nov 12, 2024 934 views this year