Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Perma.cc

Using Perma.cc

  • How do I sign up?
    • Send an email to Sarah Burns Feyl at sburnsfeyl@pace.edu to request an account. Please use your Pace e-mail address when placing your request.
    • Perma.cc accounts registered by the Pace Library are available to any current researchers, faculty, staff, and students at the university who have an active Pace account. It is intended for projects that are based at Pace.
    • You will be given a “Sponsored” user account under the Registrar of the Pace Library and you can make unlimited Perma.cc links affiliated with the Pace University Library
    • If you want to work in a group with other users at Pace, we can create an “Organization” for you to collaborate in -- for example editors of a journal, or an academic department, or a faculty member with graduate or research assistants
      • NOTE: any account affiliated with any Organization can see all of the associated folders and Perma Links in the Organization
      • If a person leaves Pace, we remove their account from the Organization; all the Perma Links they created will remain
    • As a “Sponsored” user, you can continue to make Perma Links affiliated only with your own account, and you can make Perma Links affiliated with Organizations in which you participate
  • The Pace Law Library maintains its own Registrar account. Members of the Law School community should contact the Law Library for assistance.

 

  • What if I already have an account?
    • We can upgrade you to a Pace account, with the added benefits of unlimited link creation, multiple users, and local support.
       
  • How do I use Perma.cc links in a citation?
  • Why not just use the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine?
    • Perma.cc provides a more thorough, accurate capture in two forms, a web archive file (WARC), and a screenshot (PNG). Perma.cc also provides persistent shortlinks that are more convenient for citing, and enables researcher management of the links (with folders, annotation, and public/private control). Perma.cc is a partner of the Internet Archive.
       
  • When should I create Perma.cc Links? 
    • Create Perma.cc links for websites on the Internet such as blog postings, working papers, reports, press releases  – any free web pages that do not already have another form of permanent URL such as a DOI or a Handle URL. 
       
  • When should I not create a Perma.cc link? 
    • The terms and conditions of Perma.cc specify that Perma.cc should not be used to archive content in a subscription database or behind a paywall.
       
  • Are there any limitations I should be aware of?
    • Perma.cc is intended for non-commercial scholarly and research purposes that do not infringe or violate anyone’s copyright or other rights. Web pages to be archived should be freely available without payment or registration. Additionally, some web pages employ a “noarchive” restriction, which Perma.cc archives but makes private. In other words, the shortlink can be shared, but is available only to the researcher and upon request.
       
  • Does Perma.cc have any other features?
  • Need more help?

Making the Links

  1. The user copies the URL from the address bar of a web page they want to preserve.
  2. The user pastes that URL into the window of the Perma.cc page. 
  3. The user clicks the "Create Perma Link" button. 

Perma will visit the web page selected and create a record of the contents of that page. When Perma finishes processing the request, the Perma Record will appear and the user will see a preserved page similar to below (you should review the Perma Record to confirm that it displays correctly).

The Perma Link for your preserved page will now appear in the address bar of your browser (as well in the Perma Record).  

Now you can just cut & paste your new Perma Link in place of the old link or along with the old link...and know that it is permanent!


Permalinks to Articles in Library Databases

Many of the library's subscription databases provide the ability to create persistent links - also called stable URLs - to full-text articles. By following these links, a user is taken directly to the article. These persistent links are created in different ways, depending on the database. These links can be made available from a Classes LMS course page, a Discussion Board post, or from a web page. You must use our Persistent Link Builder  to make these links work from off-campus.

 

This video demonstrates this process: https://youtu.be/S0IV3WqU8l0 



For example - Here is a link to a full-text article in the Academic Search Premier database from Ebsco that has been processed using the Persistent Link Builder: 

Riddle, John S. "Where's the Library in Service Learning?: Models for Engaged Library Instruction." Journal of Academic Librarianship. Mar2003, Vol. 29 Issue 2, p71. http://rlib.pace.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=asn&AN=9506023&site=ehost-live&scope=site