Library: Occupational Therapy: Evidence Based Practice Resources

Locating Articles

When you find an article listed in a research database, and the article is not immediately available to read, use the Search for Item Icon to search all of Pace's holdings (print and electronic) to see if we have full text.

If you see a message that reads instructs you to request the article using our ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service, logon to place your request.

Articles (scanned pdf files/photocopies from journals and magazines) can take anywhere from one day to 2 weeks to obtain, but are usually delivered within 48 hours. You will receive the article electronically through your ILLiad account.

Evidence-Based Practice as a Topic

How to read a paper: Papers that summarise other papers
This is an article from BMJ about how to read papers that summarize other papers such as systematic reviews and meta-analyses.
Ten Simple Rules for Writing a Literature Review
This article in PubMed, published in the Public Library of Science (PLoS), highlights tips for conducting a literature review.

Resources for Conducting Evidence Based Practice Research

Databases
Online Resources

CINAHL
* After running your search, use the "Show more" link on the left, scroll down and limit your search by Publication Type - options you may want to use include "Clinical Trial," "Research," "Systematic Review" or "Practice Guidelines
* CINAHL also has a Clinical Queries filter that you can reach by clicking "Show More" in the column on the left of your search screen.
PubMed
PubMed also has a Clinical Queries filter! Click on "Clinical Queries" on the PubMed homepage.
more...less...
Be sure to enter PubMed through the Library Databases so that you are recognized as a Pace affiliate, and the "Search for Item" button appears, which will guide you to full text purchased by Pace that is not available for free on the open Web.
TRIP Database
The TRIP Database is a resource for evidence-based practice designed to quickly provide clinicians with a wide variety of sources. TRIP searches Cochrane Library, PubMed and many other sources. TRIP is also working to provide access to practice guidelines now that the National Guidelines Clearinghouse is no longer available.

Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ)
"The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the healthcare system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions."
American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA)
A resource directory created by the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) containing resources focused on Evidence-based practice focused on occupational therapy.

Understanding Levels of Evidence

An important concept in Evidence Based Practice is understanding the different levels of evidence:

ACADEMICS AT PACE

LIFE ON CAMPUS

CAREER PREPARATION

ADMISSION & AID

Occupational Therapy

Locating Articles

Evidence-Based Practice as a Topic

Resources for Conducting Evidence Based Practice Research

Understanding Levels of Evidence