Library Instructional Services

BIO 210: Ecology

• Students in a particular BIO 210 class have to write a term paper for “Research Foundation”: They have to find at least 10 primary research articles related to their chosen project topics related to ecology and conservation biology.
• The research guide attached below could also be presented as a slideshow for presentation purposes. The lesson plan includes uploading the guide ahead of my Zoom meeting with class; quickly reviewing highlights of guide before demonstrating some database and Google Scholars searches.
• There is also a short lecture about scholarly communication and conversation, Open Access vs. proprietary research, and related topics.

ED690: Teacher as a Researcher

• This is an example of a flipped instruction scenario. Students in an ED690 class were assigned to watch this short video in advance of the instruction session: https://youtu.be/57rdmwhwdrU 
• Students were also asked to submit their research questions and any searching questions they had in advance to the instruction librarian. The instruction librarian prepared the Live session to be framed by the student questions, and the session included additional, advanced search techniques and tips.
• This combination session has been taught on Zoom and also in-person in the classroom. In the Zoom session, students were encouraged to ask additional questions. In the in-person session, the librarian circulated around the class and helped students one-on-one with search terms, search strategies, and troubleshooting questions with access to articles. 
• The librarian is also embedded in the course in their Classes LMS shell, where they monitor a "Research Q and A" Discussion Forum.

FIN 351: Principles of Investment

• This is a customized library research guide and searching business publications handout for FIN 351 Principles of Investment Course.
• Students are tasked with Security Analysis Project as an Equity Analyst which require them to research on Description of the Firm’s Business Lines, Macro-Economic Analysis impacting the Firm, Industry Outlook, Firm Position within the Industry and Firm’s Economic Advantages.
• Students are introduced various nature and content of business information such as 10-K, Equity Research Reports, Company Profiles, Industry Surveys, White papers and learn to find information about companies, industries, economic news and any other relevant business articles using library databases.
• After the initial library instruction, the Librarian is also embedded in the course on the Classes LMS and monitors a research help “Discussion Board” and provides the group research consultation.

WS166: Gender, Race & Class

• Students in many sections of this class have been creating print zines since spring 2020--all during the pandemic in an asynchronous leaning setting. There are several learning objects for the students:
  • a slideshow presenting the history of zines and the importance of understanding pamphlet publishing as the main precedent for zines
  • a video on how to format and create an "old school," print zine using pages of letter-size paper, original or appropriated imagery as well as original or credited text.
  • a slideshow detailing the exact assignment
• Students upload all the pages of their zine in Classes in the Word Thread environment. They also upload a brief video showing the pages turning (to share the booklet format). Some students spent quite a lot of time explaining what they've made. Some comment on other students' zines, as well. The professor responds individually to each zine uploaded.

INT WGS115: Interdisiplinary

• In this presentation students will work together to evaluate sources and submit their answers on a Padlet in order to share their findings. The class will have a discussion on the factors for evaluating a source.

JRN238: The Global Newsroom

• This is a customized self-paced tutorial that guides students through various videos, texts, and activities related to their assignment exploring global news: https://pace.libwizard.com/f/SIFTNewsroom
• Students were asked to select a country and explore their press landscape, most impactful press companies, and the freedom of press. In this tutorial, students located press companies, found more information about them, and learned how to vet international sources. 

LIT 211D: The Individual and Society

• The slides for this presentation walk students through creating a searching plan and developing search strategies related to literature resources. 
• At the end, a worksheet provides students with an opportunity to develop their own searching plan to practice. 

Apollo RN - Undergraduate Nursing:

• All undergraduate nursing students complete an online research tutorial that is embedded in the Classes LMS course shell for the Evidence Based Practice course. There are five Units in the tutorial, with ungraded Self-Assessments at the end of four of the Units; at the end of the tutorial, there is a Final Quiz that counts as 3% of the course grade. 
• The five Units contain text and video: 
  • Getting Started: Library Basics
  • Search Strategies & Keyword Searching
  • Subject Searching & Controlled Vocabulary
  • Locate Articles & Use "Search for Item"
  • Cite Sources & Avoid Plagiarism
• The instruction librarian is embedded in the course on the Classes LMS and monitors a "Research Help" Discussion Board, and pushes helpful information to students the week before certain research assignments are due. 

ND640/ND670: Research in Nutrition and Dietetics/Nutrition & Dietetics Capstone Project

• Students are tasked with conducting a literature review utilizing evidence-based practice (EBP) for their research.
• Slide presentation covers developing a PICO question based on a research topic, concept mapping, search strategy development, and use of controlled vocabularies.
• Students are also introduced to citation management at this point to support their research efforts leading up to their theses.

PSY23: Civic Engagement

• Psychology students are often asked to be do research for peer-reviewed articles and this slideshow guides through the entire research process or jump in where they feel they feel they need the most support.
• The presentation includes slides for each step of the research process, instructional videos for using library resources, as well as a searching worksheet students complete as they progress through the slides. 
• At the end of the slideshow, students will have some keywords, sources, and citations for their paper. 
• The slideshow can be easily customized for almost any discipline. 

TS 105: Computers for Human Empowerment

• Students are exposed to a wealth of information, most of it unfiltered and accessible via the internet. Students are introduced to the concept of information disorder, of which covers the different types of false information.
• Students are tasked with reviewing several articles and identifying the type of information included available via this link.
• Answers are discussed as a class.
• Students are introduced to the concept of fact-checking and resources for doing that.