Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literary Criticism and Author Research

This guide will help you get started with research into authors and literary criticism. Use the tabs below to navigate through the guide.

General Databases with Literary Criticism

Literature Databases

MLA International Bibliography this is an excellent index for finding literary criticism. This means you can search it to find descriptions of relevant articles, but you'll usually need to click the button to find the actual, full-text article in another database. If it's not in another database, you will be directed to our Interlibrary Loan service.  Just Submit the request and wait to hear from the library: we'll email you when the article has been obtained for you.

Gale Literature This is a big collection of scholarly journal articles, biographies, encyclopedia entries, and more sources for researching works of literature and authors. This database is full text, but be aware that it has few peer-reviewed journals in it. Use JSTOR and MLA to find those.

Journal Title Search to find Full-Text Articles

If you have a citation to an article and are looking for the full-text article, you need to search for the journal title.  You can use the widget below to search for a publication title. Or you can browse journal and periodical holdings using the Subject Lists.

Journal Title Search:
Within:
Search Type:

Websites