Secondary Sources: Databases, Books, & Suggested Articles
-
America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowFind articles on the history and culture of North America, including the U.S. and Canada. This database covers thousands of years of history on the continent from prehistoric times to the present.
-
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias, dictionaries, case studies covering a wide range of subjects including history, literature, the arts, business, science, multicultural studies and religion.
Years covered: Antiquity-Present Day -
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCitations or full-page images of back issues of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources covering a wide range of topics.
Years covered: 1860s-present -
New York Times Archive This link opens in a new windowFull-page scans of the New York Times and Full-Text Searchable
Years covered: 1851 to 5 years ago -
Women's Issues and Identities This link opens in a new windowGlobal history from the female perspective.Coverage of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, and the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives. Provides multinational perspectives and historical records on women's experiences and cultural impact.
-
Dictionary of American Biography
by
ISBN: 0684174650
-
The Abolitionists and African American Suffragists Where the Movement Began"The Suffrage Movement is rooted in the Abolitionist Movement, which began to advocate for the rights of women as well. Pioneering activists such as Sojourner Truth, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Harriet Tubman and Frederick Douglas overcame tremendous adversity – including discrimination from fellow suffragists – to help win the vote.
To learn more about these visionary heroes, please click on the links below:" -
"How Black Suffragists Fought for the Right to Vote and a Modicum of Respect"by Martha S. Jones
HUMANITIES, Summer 2019, Volume 40, Number 3 -
"African American Women and the Nineteenth Amendment"by Sharon Harley, National Park Service, April 2019
-
Historians Object to National Archives' Altered Photoby Colleen Flaherty, from Inside Higher Ed, January 21, 2020
-
Compare the Speeches - The Sojourner Truth Project"Below are the two main written versions of Sojourner’s speech. The original, on the left, was delivered by Sojourner and transcribed by Marius Robinson, a journalist, who was in the audience at the Woman's Rights Convention in Akron, Ohio on May 29, 1851. And Gage’s version is on the left, written 12 years later and published in 1863."