New York Times Access
-
Students have access to an Academic Pass to NYTimes.com allowing you to browse the site without hitting a paywall message.
-
Instructions for how to set up your account can be found here.
New York Public Library
All Pace students can apply for a New York Public Library (NYPL) card! The New York Public Library has branches in Manhattan, the Bronx, and Staten Island. Brooklyn and Queens have separate public library systems.
Before searching for NYPL resources, use the links below to apply for a library card, find the location that's most convenient for you, and check that the location is open for grab and go service.
Relevant Databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
-
Credo Reference Academic Core This link opens in a new windowThis is a collection of reference ebooks on a variety of topics. A good starting resource for research sources.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowViewpoint essays, articles, statistics, and more giving the pro and con sides on topical social and political issues.
Years covered: 18th Century-present -
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new windowJournal articles in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Years covered: 1847-present. Note: We subscribe to full-text for 1999-present on select titles only.
Newspapers
Newspapers in the Pace Library
Newspaper articles are considered a popular source because they are written for a general audience by journalists, professional writers, and others. Be sure to explore the list of newspaper resources you have access to here at Pace!
-
Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowAlternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries.
-
InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new windowCurrent events and news from thousands of national, international, state and local newspapers, magazines, academic journals, books, blogs, and more.
-
New York Times Archive This link opens in a new windowFull-page scans of the New York Times and Full-Text Searchable
Years covered: 1851 to 5 years ago -
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new windowAccess to major U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.Content is available by 8am each day and provides archives from 1985. Coverage: 1980 - current
Not-For-Profit Local News Sources:
Paywalled/Subscription-Based Local News Sources:
The Wall Street Journal, Politico, New York Daily News, New York Post, Spectrum News (NY1) and Hell Gate also cover New York City politics thoroughly, though coverage may be paywalled. If you're ever looking for any of these sources, please feel free to do a search for them in the Journal Title search feature on the Library Website. Be wary of Full-Text Delays, which can go anywhere from a month to a year.