Academic Research About your Industry
If you want to find out what college professors and other academics and scholars are publishing about your industry or career, consider searching library databases. Scholarship is published in books (often published by university presses) and academic journals. You can search on the Beekman Library website for print and e-books as well as articles. Scholarly articles might help you develop your own ideas and ethics about your proposed career since such articles are not published by industry but by academia.
For example, Advertising Age trade magazine isn't going to be critical of the advertising world, but the British Journal of Social Psychology likely will.
Recommended Databases for Most Research Topics
Academic Search Ultimate (A) A partly full-text article and indexing database that covers all academic disciplines. Academic or scholarly journal articles, trade publication articles, conference papers, and magazine and newspaper articles are here. Important: Click the “Search for Item” image if you don’t see a PDF or HTML link in an article. This is a powerful tool that searches all the other databases for the article. Try searching in the title or abstract for your terms. Put phrases between quotation marks.
Ebook Central (E) This is a 100% full text book database. You can read online, download chapters, print chapters, and download most books for a limited time. The best bet is to download PDF chapters, which you can have permanently. There are other tools in the database, as well.
note: Pace subscribes to MANY other databases, as well. View them by selecting the SUBJECT drowpdown menu.