Skip to Main Content


BUS 255: Professional Planning and Practice for Internships & Careers

Company and Industry News

Updated information about IBIS World:
IBIS World: IBISWorld provides trusted industry research on thousands of industries. Pace's subscription is limited to US industries, however. Reports include economic, demographic and market data, including SWOT analysis (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats).  Take advantage of the Call Preparation Questions section of an industry report. These are questions and answers designed to help you ask smart questions during an interview. (The answers give you an idea of what your potential employers might or should say in response.)
 
Here's a screenshot from the page about Celebrity & Sports Agents as a sample.
 
You have to scroll down on the left to get to the Call Preparation Questions:
 
IBIS World also offers this Complete Guide to Industry Research, which may be helpful and interesting.
 
U.S. public company profiles including company histories, financial statements, SWOT analyses; U.S. industry profiles including company rankings and market share; full-text journal and magazine articles. This database has a great interface and experience.
 
Full-Text Journal articles, SWOT analyses, industry reports, company profiles etc. Includes leading and regional business publications in the U.S. and Canada.
 
U.S. company data and reports, including SEC filings and current and historical annual reports for publicly traded American companies.
 

Performing Arts Periodicals

This small database includes over 400 publications in the performing arts, with the most titles in theater, motion pictures, dance, and music. Search by source type, with the option to limit to trade journals, newspapers, magazines, conference papers, and scholarly journals.

We have many other business and marketing databases that may be of interest. View all of them on this A-Z title list.

News and Statistics in Databases and on the Internet

Note: Be skeptical about news you find on social media channels. It's easy to create fake news, misinformation, and even disinformation. It's also easy to be trapped in a "filter bubble" where everyone has the exact same position on everything, and you never see an opposing or challenging news item.  Check out this Fake News guide for more about how to become more media literate.

US Major Dallies (Pace database)

Access to major U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal,  Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Coverage: 1980 - current (Pace also has the historical New York Times from 1851-2018 and Wall Street Journal from 1889-2003.)

Google News (Open Internet)

Personalized breaking news aggregator with local, national, and global news. Limit to Business, Technology, Entertainment, Sports, and more. Some news may be paywalled (although Pace may provide access to--ask for help if you're not sure). Also includes a Fact Check section.

Nexis Uni (previously Lexis Nexis; Pace database)

Nexis Uni features more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources, Curated discipline pages present related content to the topic, top publications and specialized search forms—helpful for new students who want to learn about a discipline or advanced students who need fast, current awareness within their field of study. Great for international and non-English language news.

Statista (Pace database)

Statistics portal providing quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Each statistic includes its source, release date, number of respondents, and other relevant details to facilitate verification.