Recommended Databases for Articles and E-Books
JSTOR (J). A massive article AND book chapter (from mostly university press books) database. Not good for recent material--3-5 years in general. Great for historical material. This database does not have great search filters and tools compared to others.
Academic Search Ultimate (A) A partly full-text article and indexing database that covers all academic disciplines. Academic or scholarly journal articles, plus magazine and newspaper articles are here. Click “Search for Item” if you don’t see a PDF or HTML link in an article.
Ebook Central (E) A huge collection of e-books from academic and popular publishers. I recommend seeking books published by university presses such as MIT Press, Chicago University Press, or University of California Press. Log in off campus with your Pace credentials. Tools include read online, download chapters, print chapters, and more.
Oxford Art Online (O) Full-text entries and images from the following art reference resources: Grove Art Online, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art. Note that this is not a journal article database but still may provide useful information.
Bibliography of the History of Art (B) [and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA)] BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. If you find a book of interest, copy and paste the title in to a Pace Libraries book search.To find the full text of an article, use the Journal Finder tab on the Pace Libraries website.
