What is a Scholarly Journal?
Scholarly, academic, refereed, peer-reviewed - these terms are sometimes used interchangably, but what do they mean?
Peer-reviewed and refereed publications: "articles submitted to a periodical are examined both by the editor and one or more specialists in the individual field before approval is given to publish. The purpose of the readers (often called an editorial board) is to ensure a better chance that the final product will be a contribution to knowledge." (Definition from Magazines for Libraries, New York : Bowker 1997).
- Anatomy of a Scholarly Journal ArticleFrom the North Carolina State University Library. Click to explore what makes a "scholarly journal article" just that.
- Journal Rankings and Impact FactorsLearn about how journals in different disciplines are ranked.
- The Role of Peer Review for Scholarly Journals in the Information AgeAn article from the Journal of Electronic Publishing which discusses the value of scholarly journals and peer review.
Search Scholarly Publications
Refer to the Subject Reference Tools handouts linked on the Home page of this Guide to see recommended databases within a discipline. Many of those databases give access to articles published in scholarly or peer-reviewed publications. The databases listed below are interdisciplinary and contain articles in scholarly journals from a variety of subjects and disciplines:
Watch this short video which demonstrates how to limit a search in a database to just scholarly articles: http://youtu.be/gH3VK-oH3lE
- Browse Pace Library Databases by SubjectYou can select a database from the alphabetical list by name, or select a Subject from the drop down menu which will show you all the databases we subscribe to that contain publications in that particular subject area.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCitations or full-page images of back issues of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources covering a wide range of topics.
Years covered: 1860s-present - SAGE Journals This link opens in a new windowJournal articles in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine. Years covered: 1847-present. Note: We subscribe to full-text for 1999-present on select titles only.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowArticles from 1980 to now. From arts to science to technology
Journal Title Search
Search our publication holdings. Search by publication title to see what newspapers, magazines and journals are subscribed to by the Pace Library:
Google Scholar
Set your Google Scholar Preferences to recognize that you are affiliated with Pace University. Check out our Help Guide which explains this process.
Interlibrary Loan
When you find an article listed in a database, and the article is not immediately available to read, use the Search for Item button to search Pace's periodical holdings. If you get a message that directs you to use the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service to request a copy of the article, follow the link.
- Articles (pdf files/photocopies) can take anywhere from 24 hours to a few days to obtain.
- Books, conference proceedings and other documents are also available for request and can be picked up at your home campus Library.
- ILLiad Interlibrary LoanThe ILLiad service allows users to request and track items not owned by the Pace University Library. Logon the first time using your Pace username and password, then complete the Registration Form.