As you are developing your research question, you may want to investigate background information on your topic which could include:
- statistics on populations, rates of occurrence, or treatments
- overviews/key facts about the condition or topic area
- historical knowledge collected about a condition, treatment, or area of study
The Pace Library has collections of physical books, eBooks, and reference databases that can provide these types of information.
Databases for Background Information
Databases for Locating Background Information & eBook Collections
-
Access Medicine This link opens in a new windoweBooks and online tools pertaining to general medicine.
-
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia, dictionary, articles. Also Content available in spanish and those learning english or spanish.
-
Credo Reference Academic Core This link opens in a new windowThis is a collection of reference ebooks on a variety of topics. A good starting resource for research sources.
-
Salem Health This link opens in a new windowOnline access to Salem Press’s health reference works. Pace University has the following: Genetics & Inherited Conditions, and Psychology & Mental Health.
Years covered: Current editions
Locating Books & eBooks
Locating Books & eBooks
The Books & Media tab on the Pace Library homepage allows you to search by Keyword, Title, Author, or Subject for physical books in the Pace Libraries, eBooks, or video content.
If I performed a search for "autoimmune disease" in the Books & Media tab, the results would include a variety of results including eBooks and print books. The filters on the left side provide limiting options by library location, publication year, resource format, and more.
