About this page
In doing a comprehensive literature search, you will need to consult many different resources. The resources on this page include some of the essential databases to search, as well as some additional options for locating evidence.
- Essential Databases to Search
- Using Google Scholar
- Grey Literature
- Citation Tracing
Introduction
Essential Databases
Any literature search for a systematic review or dissertation should include comprehensive searches of the databases in the first set below:
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowArticles and citations from scholary journals on biomedical and health related scholarly journals. Years covered: 1946-present
-
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) This link opens in a new windowNursing and allied health journals.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based medical information, clinical trials, and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of healthcare interventions.
Additional Databases
Depending on your research question, there may be targeted subject databases that would be valuable. Below is a list of options at the Library or you can ask a librarian for assistance in choosing:
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowJournals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
-
ERIC via EBSCO This link opens in a new windowJournal articles, books, and curriculum guides in education research.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowA subset of Google that searches academic material. Instructions on how to customize this to find materials owned by Pace University are available at this link: Google Scholar Link to Pace Full Text
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCitations or full-page images of back issues of scholarly journals, books, and primary sources covering a wide range of topics.
Years covered: 1860s-present
-
TRIP DatabaseA smart, fast tool to find high quality clinical research evidence.
-
DSM-V This link opens in a new windowThe e-version of:
DSM-V Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders,
DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis,
DSM-5® Clinical Cases,
DSM-5® Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview,
Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5®
Theses and Dissertation Databases
Depending on your program and research question, you may specifically need to locate other theses and dissertations on your topic. Below is a list of options at the Library or you can ask a librarian for assistance in choosing:
-
Dissertations & Theses @ Pace University This link opens in a new windowDoctoral Dissertations submitted by Pace University students since 1976. Full text available from 1997 onwards.
Years covered: 1976-present
SEE ALSO Dissertations & Theses Global for a search of all dissertations. -
Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new windowDissertations and theses from the U.S. and Canada.
-
Open Dissertations This link opens in a new windowA database built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses
-
Worldcat.org This link opens in a new windowLocate books, journals and magazines, music scores, archival materials, and media in libraries worldwide.
Searching Google Scholar
What is Google Scholar? How should I use it?
While Google Scholar does not support as complex searching as many other databases, you can alter and simplify your search to make it more effective.
See the document below for advice on searching Google Scholar systematically.
- Open scholar.google.com
- Go to the left screen, click on the 3 lines in the top left
- Click on "Settings"
- Click on menu item, "Library Links"
- Type in Pace University and search
- Check the boxes next to any of the "Pace University" results
- Click on Save to save preferences.
Grey Literature
What is Grey Literature? How should I use it?
Grey literature is defined as:
"That which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers." -The Fourth International Conference on Grey Literature in Washington, DC 1999
Grey literature can provide valuable contributions to your evidence search because it can include sources such as conference papers/presentations, governmental reports, and informal communication.
For more information and lists of resources to locate grey literature, visit this research guides linked below.
Citation Tracing Example
Can citation tracing be helpful to locating evidence?
Citation tracing is a search strategy that uses the bibliographies of resources that you have already located to look for relevant research.
This strategy is valuable because if you have already found a research article that provides valuable data or theory, there is a high chance that the articles they used to support their research may also benefit your scholarship.