Skip to Main Content


Occupational Therapy Research Guide

Pace Library Databases for Nursing and Medicine

"I found an article on the Pace Library but how do I read the whole thing?"

  • Due to the subscription model of the scholarly publishing, the Pace Library will have full text for many articles, however, there will also be many entries with just an abstract and article details. 
  • The boxes below will explain how the Search for Item button, Full Text Finder, and Journal Finder can either help you locate full text or direct you to our inter-library loan service to request full text from outside of Pace.

"If I find something on Google or someone sends me something, how I tell if Pace has the full text?"

  • See the boxes below on using Journal Finder and configuring Google Scholar. 

NOTE: Never pay for articles online before asking a Pace Librarian for help!!

Locating Full Text Articles from the Pace Library

Search for Item Button

When you find an article listed in a research database, and the article is not immediately available to read, use the Search for Item button to search all of Pace's holdings to see if we have full text.

[ID: Image above shows an article results from a database with title, abstract, article information, and a gray "Search for Item" button at the bottom of the record.]

The Search for Item button will produce one of the following results:

1) You will be directed to another database at Pace that has full-text of that article

2) You will be directed to request the article using our ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service

Inter-Library Loan at Pace

The Pace Library's InterLibrary Loan department helps our community locate resources that are not in our collection. Articles (scanned PDF files/photocopies from journals and magazines) can take 24-48 hours to arrive, You will receive an email when the article is available to download from your ILLiad account. 
 
You can use InterLibrary Loan (2) ways: 
  • After clicking a Search for Item button (above), use the ILLIAD link to fill out a request form. 
  • You can request an article that's not in our collection by clicking the InterLibrary Loan link on the library homepage.

"Does Pace have access to this article?"

If you are searching for articles on the web and it is behind a paywall, you may want to know if the Pace Library has full-text access. The Library's Journal Finder tab can help you determine if we index the journal in any of the databases that we subscribe to:

 

Let's say you found the following article on Google. Try to use the Journal Finder search below to see if the Library has full text:

Smith, Z. R., Flax, M., Becker, S. P., & Langberg, J. (2023). Academic motivation decreases across adolescence for youth with and without attention‐deficit/hyperactivity disorder: Effects of motivation on academic success. Journal of Child Psychology & Psychiatry, 64(9), 1303–1313. https://acamh.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/jcpp.13815

Journal Finder Logo

Search our publication holdings. Search by publication title to see what newspapers, magazines and journals are subscribed to by the Pace Library: 

Configure Google Scholar

Often, Google Scholar will show the citation for an article, but the full text of the article is not available for free online.  

You can use the Journal Finder feature but you can save time by configuring Google Scholar to directly link you if the full-text of articles is available from the Pace databases.  

If we don't have the article available, you can also request it through InterLibrary Loan.